Trying to connect new laptop to Netgear router

Discussion in 'Networking and Wireless' started by skjnoble, Apr 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skjnoble

    skjnoble Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hello, We just purchased a brand new Lenovo laptop and are trying to connect it to a Netgear router. We have no idea what we're doing. When we put our Netgear disk in, the wizard assistant does not come up like when we connected it to our PC a few years back. My husband's work laptop works just fine and we didn't need to do anything. We're not sure what we're doing wrong. I tried doing a search first on this thread (we're computer- ignorant) so that I could hopefully get an answer without bugging anyone, but I couldn't tell if some of the other posts that had connecting problems were the same as ours.

    When we are on our new laptop and double click on internet explorer--the message error just says Internet Explorer Cannot Display the Webpage.

    Thank you for any help and if this is a repeat I'm more than happy to just be directed to the link.
     
  2. nobscot6

    nobscot6 Wise One

    Reputations:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    when you set up the router I ASSUME you used a wired pc to do it with.....

    If you just used the laptop, no workie!!!!!!!!

    Use an ethernet cable and connect the laptop to the router, or another pc

    then insert the disk and see if it runs the setup

    if not, try typing in 192.168.1.1 in the browser address bar, hit return

    also, what ROUTER MODEL?? Some Netgear are 192.168.0.227
     
  3. Shyster1

    Shyster1 Lazy as the Day is Long

    Reputations:
    6,926
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    You'll get the simplest setup if the router has DHCP enabled, in which case _Windows can negotiate the connection and setup almost without any help. The only thing you'll have to provide in that case is any encryption or security keys that might be used to secure the network, along with the appropriate encryption protocol.

    Basically, log onto the router's admin webpage (should be 192.168.1.1, or thereabouts - e.g., 192.168.2.1 or maybe 192.168.0.1), check to see if DHCP is enabled, and if it is, then check to see what level of encryption is being used, get the security key from whereever you wrote it down and saved it when you set up the router, and also check to see if MAC filtering is being used on the router - if it is, then you'll have to add the MAC address of the new notebook's wireless card to the list of allowed MACs, otherwise the network will simply ignore the notebook's pleas for access.:D Finally, make sure that the router is broadcasting its SSID (if you don't generally want that broadcast, you can temporarily enable it now to help the new notebook connect, and then disable it - once the notebook's got the secret password, it doesn't need to "see" the SSID).

    Once you've got that squared away, start up the notebook, go into the network connections window, and then right-click on the icon for the wireless adapter - a context menu should pop up with one item being called something like "view wireless networks" - click on that option. If you're in luck, one of the networks you will see will the the router you want to connect to - identified by its SSID (i.e., its name). There should be a control button labeled "connect" under that network - click on it and a properties window should open up that will ask you to provide the security passkey and whatnot. From there, once you've entered everything and clicked "ok," the new notebook should start making nice with the router almost immediately.
     
  4. nobscot6

    nobscot6 Wise One

    Reputations:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    skjnoble--

    are you out there?? A reply would be nice..........
     
  5. skjnoble

    skjnoble Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hi!! So sorry...very hectic these past few days. We ended up having to call and get set up on the router. We are such computer dunces and the more we use them...the more we find that out--ugh!

    Yes, we do have our desktop phsically hooked up to the router and we just wanted to add the laptop. I guess there were a couple of security measures that we needed to tend to before we could actually get our new laptop to work...but it's working now!!! Thanks so much everyone!!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page