Tried your 1520's headphone jack?

Discussion in 'Dell' started by EnderSaves, Jul 13, 2007.

?

Does your 1520's headphone jack transmit hard drive/internal laptop distortion/feedback?

  1. Yes

    244 vote(s)
    73.5%
  2. No

    88 vote(s)
    26.5%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gopherkid

    Gopherkid Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yeah, people should start posting over there. When I called dell and told them about my problem, the tech tried to reassure me that it was not that widespread of a problem. All I wanted to do was avoid the call tag of checking every component, and mailing in my system for them not to fix it b4 they give me a working solution. I'm sure the techs there have got to know about this by now, I think he was just giving me the run around, or at least going through the motions.
     
  2. farelli09

    farelli09 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    rmclock fixes this problem easily. no one should be returning their 1520 because of an interference problem that can be fixed in a matter of seconds.
     
  3. bmnotpls

    bmnotpls Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    126
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If rmclock can fix the problem, a software update of some sort by dell has to be able to fix it. Why aren't they releasing anything.
     
  4. clester

    clester Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15

    It's everybody's perogative to return (withing the 21 days or so), if they feel there is a fault. This is a fault. A third party program should NOT be required. These are not cheap items, it's not pocket change for some of us, and we want a working system. Oh and the rmclock fix doesn't work for everyone apparrently.

    I agree there needs to be a fix. from Dell. A little corporate responisibilty, fess up and fix it. and if not, allow returns.
     
  5. Duke2007

    Duke2007 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    131
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    http://www.dellcommunity.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=insp_audio&thread.id=35208
     
  6. coperi

    coperi Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yes Duke that is the exact same thread I saw you can see that I posted one for my Vostro, I really like my computer I do not want to be picky but if anyone has heard this noise it is like some kind of torture.

    P.S. I will try the Rmclock solution, will this software (rmclock) affect any other parts of my computer or other tasks like gaming, streaming video, VOIP or any other applications?
     
  7. satdog

    satdog Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    18
    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i used the settings for my s96s which HAD the same high pitched TEEEEEEE noise. Disabling c4 state either through bios or rm clock will shutdown the noise completely(if u r using the rmclock version that i posted earlier). On the negative side, disabling c4 state will decrease some of your battery life. However, for me, i disabled the c4state for 2days and when i enabled c4state back on, the noise minimized to the extent where i have to literally put my ears to the keyboard(a vast improvement!). So now i have everything working perfectly.

    You guys w/ the same problem can take my info into consideration. Just try, if not return your dell1520.
    cheers:)
     
  8. coperi

    coperi Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thank you very very much satdog I will definitely try these 2 options before I return the computer I really like it and would hate to have to wait another week for me to have a computer.

    P.S. I will post later on today to see if this fixed I want to try all options before calling Dell.
     
  9. praneeth

    praneeth Sanath Jaya Suriya!!!

    Reputations:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I don't see how disabling certain states of the processor should even come into consideration. This is not a problem with the processor but Dell's Inspiron/Vostro design... faulty laptops should be returned to Dell so that they are forced to find a fix. Why settle for less processor than you ordered by limiting its states? The best thing about the Core 2 Duo is the lowest clock states it can run to maximize battery life...
     
  10. satdog

    satdog Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    18
    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i agree. however, when they r putting product on the market, it should be a collective effort to make sure that the product is 100% problem free. FYI, this is not a new problem, most of the HP are infected with this(new and old models). DOES THIS RING A BELL GUYS. We are being cheated and we have to put up with this. HP even released an official statement on this saying it is normal and will happen when the computer is trying to save battery during low voltage states. TOTAL BULL CRAP:mad:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page