Toughbook CF-30 - Odd Power Issue

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by SugarD-x, Jun 5, 2017.

  1. Shawn

    Shawn Crackpot Search Ninja and Options Whore

    Reputations:
    1,425
    Messages:
    6,808
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Trophy Points:
    331
    I have a CF31 that your battery/keyboard/hard drive and caddy will fit right into.
    Your current AC adapter will work with a CF31 also.
     
    UNCNDL1 and toughasnails like this.
  2. SugarD-x

    SugarD-x Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Interesting. Doing that seems to have triggered the high temperature mode. It was listed as normal temperature mode in BIOS before doing so. The light statuses have also changed. With the battery in or out, the battery light flashes red when the system is completely off. When the system is on, it alternates between orange and green. Considering I have my air conditioning running full blast in my apartment right now, I don't think it is actually overheating hahaha. No noises arose, though.

    I appreciate that. Unfortunately I'm not in a position to switch or upgrade systems right now. I also don't want to trash this one, as I've spent a lot of time on customizing it to my liking. Sadly my spare CF-30's, (which are projects I was building for the guys at work), are only MK2's, and mine is a MK3. Otherwise I'd just pull the motherboard for a quick fix.
     
  3. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,247
    Messages:
    7,239
    Likes Received:
    242
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Or I can just send you a CF-30... I have a bunch. Mostly MK1s though...


    The failure rate is low on there... I would almost bet you have a hidden ribbon cable somewhere that has come out of its slot. It certainly sounds like it!

    EDIT... But if Shawn is offering a CF-31... I'm just chopped liver!
     
  4. Shawn

    Shawn Crackpot Search Ninja and Options Whore

    Reputations:
    1,425
    Messages:
    6,808
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Trophy Points:
    331
    I'm offering to sell not donate..You are still in the running
     
  5. safn1949

    safn1949 I'm sure I'm on the wrong planet

    Reputations:
    123
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I have a 30Mk1 here with a video problem, dim screen no matter what screen is hooked up. Perfect crash dummy, let me take it apart and try to duplicate the problem. Rick's probably right but if not the board is kaput. If you here a big bang I screwed up....:eek::D
     
  6. safn1949

    safn1949 I'm sure I'm on the wrong planet

    Reputations:
    123
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Your board is bad,sorry. Photos soon
     
  7. safn1949

    safn1949 I'm sure I'm on the wrong planet

    Reputations:
    123
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    56
    20170618_184641.jpg 20170618_184644.jpg 20170618_184700.jpg

    Red is power switch to yellow in the other photos
     
  8. safn1949

    safn1949 I'm sure I'm on the wrong planet

    Reputations:
    123
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    56
    As you can see, no loose cables and it still works on the bench, yellow is power switch to board, black X is the cable that if unplugged no battery seen. all other cable shown loose are not importent. 20170618_184714.jpg 20170618_184722.jpg 20170618_184729.jpg
     
    kode-niner, Shawn and toughasnails like this.
  9. SHEEPMAN!

    SHEEPMAN! Freelance

    Reputations:
    804
    Messages:
    2,394
    Likes Received:
    249
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Nice work Kerry...reminds me of the hand grenade range at Camp Pendleton.

    SugarD.........what is the board number ...should be under the ram (I probably have one).....also are you in California?
     
  10. SugarD-x

    SugarD-x Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Apologies for the late reply. I've been incredibly busy at work lately. Yes, I am in California. I'll try to pull up that number ASAP.

    As a bit of an oddity, twice now I've seen the battery level reach over 1% without charging while using my Toughbook, with it plugged in for several hours. Not sure how it read those levels, but it is normally stuck at a consistent 1%.
     
Loading...

Share This Page