1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Toughbook 29 MK4 MK5 Whats the difference?

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by tough-2-go, Mar 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tough-2-go

    tough-2-go Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    493
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Ok so it seems that the fastest CPU the 29 comes with is 1.6GHZ and this is on a MK4 so what differentiates the MK4 from a MK5? does anybody have a MK5? and do you know what it has that the MK4 doesnt have? Inquiring minds want to know. :cool:
     
  2. ohlip

    ohlip Toughbook Modder

    Reputations:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    66
    TPM 1.2 for MK5 and the MK4 has none.


    ohlip
     
  3. tough-2-go

    tough-2-go Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    493
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Thats all? I wouldn't think that would be enough to change the MK level since i have a MK3 with TPM and one without and they are both still a MK3.
     
  4. ohlip

    ohlip Toughbook Modder

    Reputations:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Probably you have an special reguest order to panasonic. Lol
    Thats all I know maybe somebody will have more explanation will see.


    ohlip
     
  5. canuckcam

    canuckcam Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    WWAN Rev A and HSDPA is only officially supported on the MK5. That is, the modules are interchangable between the CF-30 and CF-29 mk5.

    Some (well, me.) are still awaiting someone with a Rev A or HSDPA CF-30 module to be able to put it in a CF-29 mk4 and below to see if it works/recognized. Electrically there's a USB2.0 in the ribbon cable, but perhaps the BIOS doesn't recognize it?
     
  6. Wyrm73

    Wyrm73 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    98
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Send me the card and I'll try it. :D
     
  7. capt.dogfish

    capt.dogfish The Curmudgeon

    Reputations:
    898
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,320
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Its the same with the MK4 and MK5 CF-18. The only apparent difference is the TPM.
    CAP
     
Similar Threads: Toughbook Whats
Forum Title Date
Panasonic Toughbooktalk.com is down for good.... May 16, 2015
Panasonic Toughbook CF-T8: noise or heat issues? May 3, 2015
Panasonic Toughbook Drivers & Manuals May 1, 2015
Panasonic WD Black Dual Drive in a Toughbook Apr 3, 2015
Panasonic Toughbook CF-19 MK4 WWAN Bios Switch missing Apr 6, 2015

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page