Touchscreen issues

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by gijoe4us, Feb 1, 2018.

  1. SHEEPMAN!

    SHEEPMAN! Freelance

    Reputations:
    821
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Let's not get excited here.
    GIJ is getting the same response with Windows and Linux. Verify this please.

    This is the sort of thing I see when running touch v.s. tablet. The touch numbers are roughly 1/4 the size of the tablet numbers so machine thinks the screen is 3"x 4".

    Let's just see if we can get Linux to recognize the whole screen.

    Set bios to TOUCH before we start. <<<

    SO: To get MX only running I need a couple answers.
    1. Are you using xinput-calibrator? If so:
    Code:
    sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/99-calibration.conf 
    ##The why is you may have calibrated with tablet numbers. Then run calibrate again twice! Result should be instant. Reboot after writing new 99-calibration file.
    2. What version of MX is this? One of the beta versions didn't have xinput. I heartily recommend MX-17 with update and upgrade.
    3. Are you dual booting Windows or running two drives? (recommended)
    4. This is going to make your screen touch only. Once we solve the hardware issues we will change back to where both are using tablet numbers.
    5.
    Code:
    dmesg | grep PS/2 -i
    dmesg | grep input -i
    lsusb
    ##three lines of code. -i to ignore capitilization
    cat /etc/issue
    Let's see if this yields any "expected" results. Go slow, get done quick. First Linux for diagnostis and then Windows.
     
  2. safn1949

    safn1949 I'm sure I'm on the wrong planet

    Reputations:
    128
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Problem is if you send that Mk4 into Panasonic for repair, they will charge more then the unit is worth.Mk4's are fairly cheap.

    CF-19 MK4 Core i5 1.20GHz 4GB 320GB GPS Laptop 430 hours for $250 .

    $350 for a Mk5 and you will spend all of that on a repair. lets see what we can do here
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2018
  3. Shawn

    Shawn Crackpot Search Ninja and Options Whore

    Reputations:
    1,450
    Messages:
    7,162
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Jeff,
    It's the January 2018 release of MX 17
    He's running it from a Live usb as far as I know.
    The machine is TOUCH ONLY. No digitizer..
     
  4. SHEEPMAN!

    SHEEPMAN! Freelance

    Reputations:
    821
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    101
    For now I say it's a bad touch panel: possibly TS PCB. Straightforward repair the third time you do it. :) IF it's the panel. All bets are off if it's in the wiring around the post.
    Too bad I just sold my last CF-19 panel.
    Has anybody priced CF-19 touchscreens on bezel? Maybe a beater MK4?
     
  5. safn1949

    safn1949 I'm sure I'm on the wrong planet

    Reputations:
    128
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    101
  6. Shawn

    Shawn Crackpot Search Ninja and Options Whore

    Reputations:
    1,450
    Messages:
    7,162
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    331
    mk1 and mk2 panels//tops are ccfl. They wont work.
    mk3 and later are led.
    mk3 upper should work if I recall correctly.
     
  7. gijoe4us

    gijoe4us Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    47
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Don't think it's the wiring, I very rarely spun it around and placed it in tablet mode. Usually open and close it and that was it. Will try and find a panel......

    Thank for helping diagnose everyone!!! I knew you would all have great answers!
     
  8. SHEEPMAN!

    SHEEPMAN! Freelance

    Reputations:
    821
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    101
    If I was doing it, I would buy a really cheap bios locked MK3 or MK4 in great condition, split the screen and just move the touch panel and bezel....with the TS PCB as a reserve if it's the PCB's problem. And assorted parts.
    If your Windows bios sees anything it is looking at the ground on the TS PCB. It doesn't see the the layered touch-panel itself. Similar to how a GPS works. Read the CF-29 GPS section several times.
    Here: http://forum.notebookreview.com/thr...ng-out-of-the-box.813232/page-2#post-10673438
     
  9. SHEEPMAN!

    SHEEPMAN! Freelance

    Reputations:
    821
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    101
    I'm watching an excellent candidate....and not posting it here :) PM
     
  10. gijoe4us

    gijoe4us Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    47
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    31
    SHEEPMAN! is Awesome!!! Got me on the right track, tracked me down what I would need, and I was able to get it!!! Remember, the members here will help you out.

    During all of this, I got my MK2 updated to win 8.1, and its up and running with a GOBI2. I could not survive without my CF-19, in either Centrino or Core I-5.....

    So, both are up, albeit Core I-5 without touch, but the parts are the way.... I am hoping I can guess the BIOS PW and get the whole machine up and running...... Good luck to me, but I will have parts to fix my issue.

    Again, many thanks to you all that responded and helped me keep my 19 going after many years of service. This is my baby, and I love it!!!! Luckily. I have 2 different service manuals to help me out on the repair!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page