Toshiba or Dell

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Camstofer, Jan 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Camstofer

Camstofer Newbie

Reputations:
    Hi, I'm thinking about getting my first laptop. It's mainly for school reasons. I'm a college student and was thinking of several options. I want something that I can use for school, watch movies and surfing during long breaks. I've looked at several notebooks, and came down to 2 choices the Dell Inspiron 8600 and the Toshiba Satellite M30. It appeals to me because of the wide screen and the Centrino CPU. I've heard that Centrino has longer battery life and not as hot as the regular P4. I've gone on the Dell website, and tried to customize the Dell 8600, but no matter how much I tried the cost is too much because of the shipping. I can get the Toshiba Sat. M30 at my local computer store for much less without shipping. Also, I've read a few reviews on here about Dell services, and it's not so good[:(]. If anyone has any opinion on the M30 or experiences with Toshiba service, please post your messages and let me know. PS. feel free in suggesting other notebooks that are better.

2. zhukeeper

zhukeeper Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    I'm pretty much in the same boat as you are, but I'm waiting until the new intel chip for laptops (dothan) gets released. pentium m processor prices should be slashed, so you might find a better deal a month or two from now, but i'm not an economist so i really am not too sure.

i'm not really interested in the dell because of problems i've heard about (something about lines on the screen and a screwy touchpad). the toshiba i'm looking at but am not going to buy it (just because i've never seen it in person, and i'm just skeptical of laptops that i haven't seen in person...just me heh).