TONGFANG GK5CN5Z / GK5CN6Z / GK5CQ7Z / GK5CP0Z

Discussion in 'Other Manufacturers' started by sicily428, Apr 22, 2018.

  1. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox BGA Filth-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    31,777
    Messages:
    36,129
    Likes Received:
    58,911
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Perhaps you could explain in more detail what worked for your situation.

    Did you guys already try what worked for @shtooka?
     
  2. FastPete

    FastPete Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    To anyone having trouble getting Sound Blaster Connect working.

    I got my Recoil iii from Pcspecialist a few days ago and couldn't get SBC to work. I've been on their tech support trying to figure it out but their drivers wouldn't work. I did manage to get Dolby Atmos Gaming working from a pack I found but was on a mission to get Sound Blaster working. I've been trying any realtek driver I could (I spent most of the day yesterday at it) find and finally stumbled across this...

    https://puresoftapps.blogspot.com/2018/12/realtek-modded-driver.html

    Make sure to do a clean install, removing anything related to realtek before installing the above.

    This is the only thing that worked for me and I'm glad it did. The difference in volume and overall quality is night and day.

    Hope this helps someone.
     
    Mr. Fox likes this.
  3. ditchmagnet

    ditchmagnet Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I've started experiencing game freezing recently after refreshing my TIM. I'm using IC Diamond and happy with the results. The last application was ICD and lasted a long time, but it was reaching up to the 90's again so I refreshed it. Temps seem good again, but I'm getting freezes now, just for games. I can go to task manager and kill the game, so its not the system. I'm wondering if the thermal pads in there need to be replaced as I cant monitor those temps, but the top of the chassis does feel very hot above the keyboard and to the left of the fan button.

    Think replacing all that thermal pads should help this? And if so, what would be a good recommend product to use?

    EDIT:
    Just had it happen but all of windows locked up then BSOD. I'm going to ease up on my undervolt a bit. Not sure why its been fine up to now though with these settings.

    EDIT:
    I was just checking some temps. During gaming I've got 68 on CPU, 69 on GPU, and PCH is up to 80 so far. Could a high PCH temp cause this?
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2020
  4. stesteste

    stesteste Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm still having the 800MHz issue when the battery is getting low, do you know if there is a way to activate this setting directly in the unlocked BIOS? I haven't installed XTU or Throttlestop, I undervolted directly in the BIOS.
     
  5. hunteritabra

    hunteritabra Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have an Overpowered LP-2 (TongFang GK5CN6Z), From time to time upon turning the laptop on, I would be taken to the BIOS. Keyboard unresponsive and keyboard backlight off. This issue would go away after a couple a turn on/off attempt. Eventually, I opened the laptop and decided to disconnect and reconnect the keyboard ribbon connector to the motherboard. Issue would go away for 2/3 months. Now issue seems to be permanent. Any suggestions? Do I have to replace the entire keyboard? Or can I find the ribbon cable only?
     
  6. isaacmaple08

    isaacmaple08 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Was looking for this on my Mech-17 9750/2080MQ and that was a huge increase! now to work toward the 2080 performance increase. I couldn't understand why after I repasted with LM and getting a max temp of 58-62c It was throttling lol.
     
    unclewebb likes this.
  7. hunteritabra

    hunteritabra Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Anyone has a service manual or guide on how to disassemble the GK5CN6Z ? I will need to replace the cable going to the keyboard.
     
  8. partyMcFly

    partyMcFly Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    6
    @Mr. Fox
    I ended up restoring the computer to original components, as I was getting ready to send the machine back to OP. I took out my SSD, took out a stick of ram, put the spinning drive back in, put the stock battery back in, did a 100% fresh install on the spinning drive and reset bios to factory settings......

    Computer still has flickering issues... UNTIL...I install all my old drivers and update windows. Flickering issue only apparent at 80-100% brightness, (Up from 10%), and now after another restart, its working normally.

    I have no clue how to diagnosis this, but it felt like some sort of driver/bios/windows conflict? I'll keep this post active if I begin to experience flickering again once I restore the computer to the upgraded hardware etc.
     
    em0ney14 and Mr. Fox like this.
  9. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox BGA Filth-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    31,777
    Messages:
    36,129
    Likes Received:
    58,911
    Trophy Points:
    931
    That is really interesting. You should test your upgrades one at a time. Like start with adding the stick of RAM and use it a few days. If no issue, put the SSD back in and use it a few days. If the flickering returns, swap the HDD back in. If the flickering goes way, try cloning the HDD to SSD. Lather, rinse, repeat.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2020
    em0ney14 likes this.
  10. partyMcFly

    partyMcFly Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    10
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Wow. And the Flickering is back....

    You were correct in your analysis above in terms of diagnosis.

    I added my NVME SSD back, and added the RAM back. (So effectively now laptop is running dual channel RAM, and utilizing NVME HD).

    Everything works normal, until I accessed my NVME drive via the explorer and opened a folder on that drive. Immediately my screen starts flickering and now the problem persists, even after removing the NVME SSD drive....

    It almost seems like accessing the NVME channel caused a short, which impacted my display.

    I'm going to try to remove the RAM, tinker some more, and then if that fails to fix, i'm going to repeat my clean/driver/wipe, and see if that re-fixes the problem. I think i'll end up with a solution eventually... If not, i'm going to ship this back to manufacturer and see if they honor my warranty (sticker broken--but everything is stock and machine is flawless)-- Fingers crossed. Any other ideas?
     
    em0ney14 and Mr. Fox like this.
Loading...

Share This Page