Thinkpad or Ideapad?

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Heyman92, Apr 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Heyman92

Heyman92 Newbie

Reputations:
    I've been looking for a new laptop for a while and I'm getting closer to making my final decision. I was considering getting a Thinkpad T530 or an Ideapad Y500. I know Ideapads are used more for gaming and Thinkpads are more for business. I'm a student so I'm on my laptop a lot mostly for papers and research but I also game occasionally. I also watch a lot of videos on my laptop netflix, hulu, youtube etc. I do some light video editing and Photoshop as well but I don't do either of these very often. Which laptop do you think would be better for me?

2. Rodster

Rodster Merica

Reputations:
    The fact that you occasionally game, i'd go with the IdeaPad Y400 14" or Y500 15.6". Both laptops have been upgraded to the 750m. The Y400 has 720p whereas the Y500 is FHD and the Y500 comes in SLI,

3. Tmets

Tmets De-evolving to Amoeba

Reputations:
    The Y500 will give you better gaming performance, on the other hand the T530 is sturdier, has a better keyboard and has better support. Watching videos isn't an issue with either, but I would get the 1080p screen.
    If it were me, I'd prioritise work and reliability and get the T530.

4. Heyman92

Heyman92 Newbie

Reputations:
    Do you think I would be able to video chat (skype) on both as well? I have a separate webcam so the built in one won't be a problem.

5. Tmets

Tmets De-evolving to Amoeba

Reputations:
    You could do that with any laptop without an issue. Basic tasks like that, as well as watching video or office tasks are all undemanding.

6. MadHater

MadHater Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    It doesn't really matter if you play occasionally or not, but the kind of gaming you perform. If you like Crysis and other modern graphic shooters then playing once in a month will still require a decently strong laptop.