[Thermal Paste] How/what and where to buy?

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by Undertaxxx, Jun 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Undertaxxx

Undertaxxx Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Hi

WARNING: I'm a complete noob! I know verry little about thermal paste etc.

I'm new in this large comunity and don't know if this is the right section to post this.

I have the folowing notebook:
    Acer Aspire 5920G
    Cpu: Intel Centrino: T7500 Dual Core ~ 2.2Ghz ...
    (Cpu runs at 50°C idle and can go up to 90°C when stressed!)
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce 9500m GS.
    4 gigs ram.
    300gb HDD.

SCROLL DOWN FOR MY NEW PROBLEM

Anyway, My questions are simple (I think, lol.) :

-First of all!: Is this possible? I mean, i know you're able to do this with normal computers, but i'm not sure if it's possible with a notebook/laptop.

-How can I apply Thermal paste onto my T7500 prosessor?
    (Just squirt and spread? Or what?)
    -Is this a good way to lower my CPU temperatures?
    -What's the best Thermal Paste? I've heard something about Artic Silver 5?
    -And last but not least: Where can i buy this?

RESULTS OF UNDERVOLTING (T7500 @ 2.2~)

BEFORE:

[​IMG]

AFTHER

[​IMG]

TEMPS NOW -.-

Read on page 5 to know what i did, and where i went wrong/messed up.

[​IMG]

I need help with:

-How to disasseble the heatsink/gpu card/(maybe whole motherboard out of my laptop case?)
    -How to make sure nothing is going to overheat etc.

2. moral hazard

moral hazard Notebook Nobel Laureate

Reputations:
    well when I got my laptop it reached 85C in 1min running ORTHOS.
    after I change the thermal paste to some coolermaster paste (since it's what I had) the maximum temp went to 74C.
    I did spread the paste evenly and on both the CPU and the heatsink. I made the thinnest layer that I could and the most even layer.
    Also before I did that I removed the old paste with some metholated spirits.