The ThrottleStop Guide

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by unclewebb, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. Panzer4

    Panzer4 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey, I have an acer swift 3 with an i5 8250U, and this thing is an astoundingly powerful CPU, except it power limit throttles under max load for more than ~20 seconds, after monitoring it with coretemp during a prime95 test. After that, it stays locked down at 15w and 2-2.5 ghz instead of full 3.4 Ghz Turbo and 30-40w. Is there any way to change the PL1 setting with throttlestop so this doesn't occur? Or am I out of luck without access to the advanced BIOS?

    Just to be clear, this is not due to thermal limitations, but artificial power limit constraints (The CPU is typically around 60-70C with max load under turbo before it throttles)
    Thanks for the help!

    Edit:
    So after following the instructions detailed below, I was able ti change the power limit for my 8250U, and it actually worked! It's allowed the processor to achieve a Cinebench score of 720, up from 505 - an increase of 40% from its stock settings. Now I just need to figure out how to set this memory address through restarts. Thanks for the information, unclewebb!
    These new Kaby Lake-U quad cores are insane if you can remove their power limits- Desktop performance on small mobile.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2018
  2. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    3,445
    Messages:
    3,389
    Likes Received:
    4,201
    Trophy Points:
    331
    So you unlocked it with MSR power limits! Nice!
    I wonder if @Vistar Shook is having the same issue with his eVGA. I sent him a PM...hope he replies.
    Would be wonderful if the same thing worked for him.
     
    duttyend and Vistar Shook like this.
  3. Vistar Shook

    Vistar Shook Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    780
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    909
    Trophy Points:
    106
    On my machine the PL1 limit entry says 00181E0...so 60W and PL2 is disabled. But when I change the value it reverts back. I can put a value for PL2 and it will stick, but it won't work in practice. Unfortunately, the power limits can't be changed in the Bios and neither in MMIO.
    https://imgur.com/ThKA6Ew
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2018
  4. cktducky

    cktducky Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just for reference, in my laptop, i5-4200U, using all techniques, Throttlestop(UnderVolt + PowerCut + max. CPU/GPU balance) + FED159A0 settings, can run steadily, already 15 mins, up to 29.5W, with max. CPU/GPU frequency, 100% load, without speed limit by any Power Limit.

    IntelHaswellSteadyWOLimit29.5W.jpg
     
    Rybo713, Vistar Shook and Vasudev like this.
  5. alakes

    alakes Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    @unclewebb - No luck with the searches, I can't find anything that looks remotely like the TDP limit regs, even searching for individual bytes. Can you tell me where this value comes from?:

    [​IMG]

    It is not in any of the registers I'm aware of.
     
  6. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    3,445
    Messages:
    3,389
    Likes Received:
    4,201
    Trophy Points:
    331
    @unclewebb !
    I found out the value at dword register 30 at FED15900 is the actual TDP of your processor!
    Yours shows 47W there. Is this raw TDP or some base power limit?

    But writing to this field instantly gets reverted :(
     
    duttyend, Vistar Shook and Vasudev like this.
  7. Panzer4

    Panzer4 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Could anyone point me to a guide on how to use commands with RWeverything to create a file to run on startup? Had no luck with my googling.. :/
    Thanks :)
     
  8. cktducky

    cktducky Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here you go. http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/the-throttlestop-guide.531329/page-564 [#5634], I also quoted to below for your quick reference,

     
    Panzer4, Vistar Shook and pressing like this.
  9. xenocracy_2001

    xenocracy_2001 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Why ThrottleStop 8.50 have an Expiry date ?
    -> Expiry date extended to January 2019

    Have never found a Freeware Version
    with a Expiry date. Shareware ok I Understood,
    But Freeware ? Have now found a Solution
    for never Ending Use, for me.

    Why not a Splash Screen with:
    "Please Update Now my Software It's a long Time ago
    Next Update with new Features is coming to you certainly."
    --> But the program continues to work. Look on Winrar

    Thank You Mr. Unclewebb for this Great Tool.
    This is the only Cpu Throttling Tool it is working for me.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2018
  10. Panzer4

    Panzer4 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    6
Loading...

Share This Page