1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

The ThrottleStop Guide

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by unclewebb, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. tilleroftheearth

    tilleroftheearth Wisdom listens quietly...

    Reputations:
    3,841
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9,709
    Just want to confirm what o770 is reporting (on my i3 350M based Asus U30Jc).

    This is also a fresh install Windows 7 x64 Ultimate - installed on January 21, 2011.
     
  2. unclewebb

    unclewebb ThrottleStop Author

    Reputations:
    5,184
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4,059
    Thanks for confirming that tilleroftheearth.

    I've tested Core 2 mobile and desktop and that Core i5-650 desktop I posted and I've got some testing below of a new Sandy Bridge Core i5-2500K. They all worked the same. I just assumed that they all worked like that but I guess I'm wrong.

    Here is a new Core i5-2500K that has a minimum multiplier of 16.

    http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/6760/tsidle100.png

    http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/996/tsidle5.png

    In terms of power consumption, it probably doesn't make any significant difference at idle.

    There is a way to measure the percent of time in C3 and C6 which I've been thinking about adding to the next version of ThrottleStop. It's very easy to accurately measure this in any Intel Core i based CPU. This might help explain what you guys are seeing that I'm not.
     
  3. XSpiritusX

    XSpiritusX Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Hello.
    Sorry for interrupting your conversation, but would testing my computer with SetFSB to see if the TME Unlock pin mod would be sufficient for overclocking be a safe procedure? I ask because it says the computer will freeze up if that method would not work for overclocking, and I want to make sure that I can just do a hard shutdown, reboot, and be fine again.
     
  4. o770

    o770 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    XSpiritusX, hello. Welcome to the forums!

    Dear unclewebb and tilleroftheearth
    I've just reinstalled Windows - fresh from Microsoft disc like previous installation, started ThrottleStop before anything on first logon and it's just the same.

    C0 still never below 3 and reaching 5 percent.
    It's a very light session without Search and Indexer, Defragmenter and such things, now even without anti-virus, amounts to 23 processes and less than 700MB of working memory at idle - makes me proud :), please check it out:

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  5. unclewebb

    unclewebb ThrottleStop Author

    Reputations:
    5,184
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4,059
    Here's about as low as my i5-650 goes with C3/C6 disabled so it is using the highest multi at idle. The faster the CPU, the less time it needs to spend in C0 to get the background tasks done.

    [​IMG]

    Edit: Here's the same CPU in the same closed case after enabling C3/C6 in the bios. Cores and threads are now spending time completely asleep. In C6 the core voltage drops down to zero so there shouldn't be too much core heat then.

    You can tell something is going on because look at the idle core temperatures compared to the first picture. They've dropped significantly. Idle C0% is up which in my opinion shows that when a core is awake, it's having to work harder now because the CPU has been slowed down with lower multipliers and sleep states. Try turning off C3/C6 in the bios if you have that option. There is also a C7 sleep state but this CPU doesn't seem to use that one. Maybe C7 is only for the mobile CPUs.

    [​IMG]

    Hopefully I'll have some time tomorrow to add C3/C6 percent monitoring for Core i processors to ThrottleStop.
     
  6. XSpiritusX

    XSpiritusX Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Thank you very much, o770!
     
  7. unclewebb

    unclewebb ThrottleStop Author

    Reputations:
    5,184
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4,059
    ThrottleStop 299.2

    I think I finally figured out what's going on o770.

    The AUTO setting on the Asus board I'm using only enables the C1 and C3 sleep state. I was assuming that the AUTO bios setting also enabled C6 at the same time but it wasn't doing that. When I enabled C6 manually, the i5-650 I'm using had the wandering average multiplier at idle just like your CPU does.

    The wandering multiplier at idle may not look good but CPU power consumption is minimized when the CPU is using the C6 sleep state so this is a good sign that C6 is being used.

    The easy way to check is by running the new version of ThrottleStop that includes C0/C3/C6 monitoring. That helps explain a few things. Time for some more testing tomorrow.
     
  8. error-id10t

    error-id10t Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    I've disabled C6 because of it's impact on SSD (Vertex2) 4k writes/reads and access times. Now, if I keep this on the background will this show C3 and C6 at one specific time and/or how much it's actually spent there? ie: I'd like to confirm it doesn't use C6 but does use all other states up to C7 (being a mobile platform).
     
  9. unclewebb

    unclewebb ThrottleStop Author

    Reputations:
    5,184
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4,059
    There are two timers that automatically increment whenever a Core i CPU is in either the C3 or is in the C6 state. Software can sample these timers once per second and determine what percentage of time the CPU was in the C3 or the C6 state during the last second. That's what ThrottleStop reports now.

    These timers run within the CPU regardless if ThrottleStop is running or not so sampling them once per second does not put any load on the CPU. If ThrottleStop shows C6% at 0.0 when idle then your CPU is not going into the C6 state.

    Here's an example of a 2500K.

    [​IMG]

    The interesting thing is that this new Sandy Bridge CPU has no trouble using the idle multiplier when it is idle and using the C6 state but the older Core i CPUs might have a bug that o770 has discovered. Time for some more testing.

    If a CPU is not using C6 then it should show that it is spending most of its idle time in C3. I'm going to play around with a register I found last night so maybe ThrottleStop can change this on the fly without having to reboot.
     
  10. tilleroftheearth

    tilleroftheearth Wisdom listens quietly...

    Reputations:
    3,841
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    9,709
    unclewebb,

    just wanted to report that with TS2.99.2 my i3 350M is showing the C6 state at 80% (as I knew it was being used (er... not used! :) )... from the battery life I get out of this little U30Jc!).

    Also, if that is your SB machine you do know about the defective H67/P67 chipset issue with Intel, right?

    See:
    Intel Discovers Bug in 6-Series Chipset: Our Analysis - AnandTech :: Your Source for Hardware Analysis and News


    Although I don't really have a need for TS, I just want to say thanks for all your work on it.

    Cheers!
     
Similar Threads: ThrottleStop Guide
Forum Title Date
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Different CPU-Temps (Throttlestop vs HWInfo) Jan 28, 2015
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Temps and ThrottleStop ?? Jan 17, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades i7 3630QM and Throttlestop Jan 1, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades 920XM CPU upgrade and discrepancy in temp readings between HWInfo64 and Throttlestop. Dec 10, 2012
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Unlocked Turbo i7-2920xm using Throttlestop. Now locked again... Oct 2, 2012

Share This Page