The ThrottleStop Guide

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by unclewebb, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. Krzyslaw

    Krzyslaw Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    84
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    56
    What is new in ts 8.73 vs 8.72?
     
  2. unclewebb

    unclewebb ThrottleStop Author

    Reputations:
    7,770
    Messages:
    6,409
    Likes Received:
    6,660
    Trophy Points:
    681
    Very little. Just a few minor tweaks to better support 10th Gen CPUs. The download should include a ReadMe file so you can see what I tried to fix. Programming without access to new hardware is a bit of a guessing game. The latest update is working as intended.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
    tilleroftheearth and Drabon like this.
  3. unclewebb

    unclewebb ThrottleStop Author

    Reputations:
    7,770
    Messages:
    6,409
    Likes Received:
    6,660
    Trophy Points:
    681
    ThrottleStop 8.74
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1rVVD_Fb3P_L1lzqW-_3DVLoxj6IrwEuO

    New Features
    - enabled Limit Reasons access for Comet Lake Core i7-10710U.
    - added IGPU INI file option to set and lock the iGPU power limit.

    Some users were having trouble with the Intel GPU power limit being set too low so I added a fix for that problem.

    Open the ThrottleStop.INI configuration file and add this line.

    IGPU=20

    The first character is the letter I which stands for Intel GPU. That line will set the maximum power limit for the Intel GPU to 20 Watts. You can set this to whatever value you like. A setting of 0 tells ThrottleStop to ignore this setting. When ThrottleStop starts up, if it finds a value, it will automatically set the Intel GPU to this power limit and just to make sure no other software interferes with this, it also sets the Lock bit on the power limit register at the same time.

    Because this locks the register, if you want to make a change to this value, you will have to either reboot or usually doing a sleep resume cycle will reset this register as long as ThrottleStop is not running. If you do a sleep resume and ThrottleStop is running, it will just lock this register again.

    If you do not have this specific problem, this new feature might still be useful. You could set this to an extremely low value like 1 which would force the iGPU to continuously throttle. Why? Perhaps this trick could be used to free up a couple of watts for the rest of the CPU so it throttles less when stress or bench testing.

    This feature has been tested on some 4th Gen CPUs and likely applies to many other generations from the 2nd Gen and up.

    Edit - Here is an example of the new TS running on a 10th Gen i7-10710U.

    [​IMG]

    Here is a 6 core CPU with a 15 Watt TDP. ThrottleStop is showing that it is throttling like a pig because the manufacturer has set a 10 Watt (PL2) short term power limit. What were they thinking? The long term turbo power limit is supposed to be set to at least the 15 Watt TDP rating of the CPU and for short periods of time, the CPU should be able to run at up to 25 Watts without any problems. Some laptops with low power U series CPUs can go as high as 40 Watts. In this laptop, the manufacturer has lowered this power limit to 10 Watts and performance has been killed.

    Intel rates this CPU to be able to run at up to 4.7 GHz when one core is active. The reality is much different. When pressed hard, in this laptop, it is struggling to reach a third of that speed. There is no cure for this mess yet, other than to toss ones investment into the bin and buy something else. Disgusting.

    FYI, the above computer running way below the Intel spec is a Dell XPS 13.

    Here is the same laptop running at a very healthy 35 Watts just as thermal throttling kicks in.

    [​IMG]

    Why the huge difference? Why allow the CPU to go up to 35 Watts one minute and then lock it down to 10 Watts the next? You do not have to be a rocket scientist to understand what this is going to do to gaming performance. Fast, slow, fast, slow in an infinite and incredibly irritating cycle. Who designs this stuff and thinks this would be a good idea?
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
    FrozenLord, Che0063, t456 and 3 others like this.
  4. Papusan

    Papusan Jokebook's Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on Filthy

    Reputations:
    41,445
    Messages:
    29,497
    Likes Received:
    58,371
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Maybe the same company who was one of the the reasons you started up and created throttleStop!

    I put in your own post #9219 where you explained the reason ThrottleStop saw the light...
    upload_2020-1-18_9-11-52.png

    All should read it.
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1tDRwD215OkMyx9BzTQRq1esBOXJrC4Dw
    "Dell has long been a fan of using clock modulation throttling. If you are interested in the early days of Dell and clock modulation throttling, here is a 24 MB pdf download that tells all. This document is what originally motivated me to write TS"

    Throttlegate: Dell covering up laptop issue [Updated]

    upload_2020-1-18_9-29-19.png

    See also my thread... How Dell cripple performance explained by...

    And yeah, It's Disgusting!
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2020
  5. Che0063

    Che0063 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    336
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    477
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Just joined the Windows Insider Slow - build 19041.21. Turns out it also updated my CPU microcode from 0x8E to 0xB4.

    Undervolt is still working on the Core (stock is ~0.9v @ 2.4Ghz), but it seems that HwInfo won't report the iGPU undervolt. I believe it's still working, but I'll have to do further tests.

    upload_2020-1-19_19-17-59.png
     
  6. mrUlugbek

    mrUlugbek Newbie

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi people.
    @Mr. Fox
    Can you help me undervolt my laptop Asus rog strix g731gu corei7 9750h gtx 1660ti

    Because if I set core offset -65-70mv so TS benchmark give me many errors. 256 and 1024 mode.
    If i set -55mv so without error. Temperature when benchmark 1024 mode was 89c and cpu 3980hz

    How I set more -130? Or take maximum performance from CPU and stay low temperature?

    Can you show optimal settings?

    Thanks advance
     
  7. senso

    senso Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    560
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    778
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Each CPU is different, no all CPU's can do -130mV undervolt, looks like your is only stable with -55mV, there is not much magic to be done, its the silicon lottery.

    Repasting might help you.
     
    Papusan and Mr. Fox like this.
  8. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox BGA Filth-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    36,952
    Messages:
    39,037
    Likes Received:
    69,402
    Trophy Points:
    931
    What @senso says is accurate. The ballpark average for 9750H is probably about -125mV (just a guess based on observations, not a scientific study,) which means many will be capable of something less.

    An undervolt is also arbitrary. There is nothing magical about the undervolt setting number, only the end results matter. What is your load voltage? This can also vary by product/firmware, so -55mV on system A might be the same as -100mV on system B. (For example, the product of 500 - 100 is not the same as 450 - 100, even though you are deducting 100 in both calculations.) I think a fairly average load voltage for 9750H is around 1.125-1.175V, which will vary based on load temps. A CPU running at higher temps needs more voltage, and most turdbooks run way too hot no matter what you do. Some manufacturers do not adhere to reference firmware specifications. Some improve upon them, some make them worse, and others follow direction precisely, even to a point of fault, because they lack the ability to think on their own and don't care about the outcome.

    And, 89°C is better than average for turdbook load temps. The errors mean the core or cache voltage is too low. You can try setting the core voltage lower than cache voltage and see if that helps. Leave the cache at -55mV and try more than that on core, see if the temps, benchmark scores and TS errors improve. The goal here is to achieve full performance and keep the temperatures under control. So, don't get overly caught up in the idea that there is anything special about the undervolt value. If your CPU runs right and the temps are good, the value of the undervolt being applied as a custom setting is totally irrelevant.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2020
  9. mrUlugbek

    mrUlugbek Newbie

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    @Mr. Fox
    Thank you.
    I did like this and without any PL1 and pl2 throtling work..




    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    My benchmark
    [​IMG]
     
    Mr. Fox likes this.
  10. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox BGA Filth-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    36,952
    Messages:
    39,037
    Likes Received:
    69,402
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Nice job. Temps are decent. And, your actual voltage (not the offset amount) is right about where it should be, too.
     
Loading...

Share This Page