1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

The OFFICIAL Panasonic CF-29 Toughbook Thread!

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by Toughbook, Jan 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I thought I'd start a CF-29 thread. I also wanted to post the Service Manual for model that is close to mine. It should work for 99% of CF-29s but for some reason the CD I got has pretty much every variant in there.

    Since the price of CF-29s is droping rapidly I imagine that more people will start buying them. I paid $850 for my CF-29ETKGDKM. I got it from Hitech Assets on ebay for $850 and it came with a DVD Rom! I cannot stress enough what great guys they are. (No connections there... Just a happy camper.) Mine came looking pretty much brand new with only light wear on the Touchscreen protector. I've already spiffed it up with a 7200rpm, 100GB hard drive and a Bluetooth PCMCIA card. Since there is no internal slot on the 29 I used one of the side slots. Using the Billionton Bluetooth card with the moveable antenna... It fits right in and you can close the door and STILL get a signal if you are within 20-30 feet! I want to add GPS and maybe an external SMA antenna jack. Since mine came with the CDMA it has the antenna connector in the back just like the 28 does when equipped with the RIM board. It looks like there may be enough space on the 29 to take that out and put in a SMA bulkhead connector. There is not enough room to do a proper job on the 28. (and leave you enough threads to make sure you can connect with ANY antenna.) On the 28 you can't slide the door closed if it is installed correctly. It looks like the 29 has a little more room in there so I may try it. I almost don't want to mess with the wireless as the existing setup is pretty darn good. It even gives the 600mW cards a run for their money!


    Link to Service Manual


    Use this thread for anything related to the CF-29... Problems, answers, mods, hints, tips, tricks, hacks or whatever else you can think of. Of course if you need quick answers you should start another thread with your own topic.

    So... Have FUN and Post Away!​
     
  2. stiffnecked

    stiffnecked Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    72
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Thanks. I appreciate the link. I'll hook it up and do the Service Pack 2 updates after I get back from the doctors office this morning. So far I like this thing. It just has a whole different feel to it versus the 28...
     
  3. gravitar

    gravitar Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    120
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    What? Nothing? no mini PCI? no PCMCIA? no multi-purpose option board? wow.. That's going to be hard to get used to after using 28s!
     
  4. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    I've only had it for 3 days.... Give me time.... give me time....
     
  5. pappy42

    pappy42 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    37
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    TB,
    As you know, I'm waiting on a 1gig DDR, 333, PC2700 memory chip from newegg at the present time. I'll post a report when I receive that.

    For what it's worth, my interests are CDMA, internal GPS, BT (I'll take a look at the Billionth PCMCIA card) and a "how to" post with photos for the hard drive change out like the one posted for the CF-28.
     
  6. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    The hard drive was easy enough to change out. It is a little more complicated as there were a lot more taped areas. But there is really only one way to put it all back together. My thought is that you should take a picture of it with a digital camera so you remember how it all went together. Maybe when I have the time I can put one together. The Manual (above) will help a little too!
     
  7. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Okay... I took the bottom off to take a gander at what we have... Here's a shot of the laptop with the bottom removed.

    [​IMG]


    My first thought was that there is not near the room inside when compared to the CF-28. The shot above is with all the components taken out. (Battery, hard drive, floppy, etc.) It appears that the Sprint CDMA assembly slides in the side just above the battery.

    [​IMG]


    I'm assuming that this is where the other options would go as well. (GPS, Bluetooth, etc.) Here's a shot of the slide assembly... The top...

    [​IMG]

    And the bottom... (I guess depending on how you are looking at it!)

    [​IMG]

    I suppose this is a good news/bad news type thing. The bad news is that there is limited space. The other bad news is that there are A LOT of connectors with HAIR THIN wires that feed into the connectors. It looks like it would be VERY easy to pull the wires out of their connectors if they were pulled the wrong way. The other bad news that I already touched on... Lack of space.

    Now... The good news. The wires are already run up to the antenna so I would imagine they could be disconnected and used for a GPS antenna. Where the CF-28 is easy to split and is faily easy to work on... This one looks like it would definitely take patience and knowledge to do just about any mod to it. Did I mention that space is at a premium in here?

    So... I am either going to have to have a 2nd CF-29 to play around with so if I mess it up I can still use my other one or it will just happen one night... I'm in my shop... I'm drinking Jack... And the rest you can figure out.
     
  8. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Oh... And the other thing I did was to put a little dab of Artic Silver paste on the heatsinks. I'll run SpyBot now and see what the temps get up to.
     
  9. stiffnecked

    stiffnecked Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    72
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Well, I was just going to ask a question but your pictures answered them. I loaded Service Pack 2, successful and then tried to load the driver for the ProWireless card(or whatever it's called) from the panny website. Looked like it was going to load and then up popped a message that said it was NOT supported.

    I thought about going back down to High Tech but it's snowing like crazy. I'll pull the back and first make sure the card is in there. Some work has already been done on the 29 as it has a 60 gig hard drive with a sticker from Heartlandsi with a date of 08-06.
     
  10. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    It looks like the Arctic Silver cooled it down by 2 degrees F so far.
     
  11. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Here's one way to tell if you (should) have the card. Unscrew the two screws on one of the black tabs on the top of LCD. Lift it up to see if there is an antenna there. If there is that means that you should have the card in there... I would think. I'm not sure of they run the antennas anyway... Regardless of if you have a CF-29 equipped with wifi or not.
     
  12. stiffnecked

    stiffnecked Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    72
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    The card is in there. That was just too easy to take the bottom cover off. Only 2 sizes of screws. I will get this figured out, one way or the other....
     
  13. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    You should go the the link I sent you and download every driver you need... Reinstall them!
     
  14. pappy42

    pappy42 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    37
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    TB,you and Modly gave me the same advice when I first got my 29. It worked for me.
     
  15. stiffnecked

    stiffnecked Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    72
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I don't feel so down any more. It was in the BIOS settings. It was marked DISABLE. I changed it and bam!!

    So if I want to put a new, faster card in, do I need to delete the program for the Intel(R) wireless first????

    I kinda feel like a chump for not checking that hours ago....
     
  16. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Hey... Play with it first. Believe me... That was the first thing I thought...

    MORE POWER


    But this thing is actually pretty darn good the way it is! I'm surprised and don't think I even want to mess with it now. But then the flip side is... If it works that well now...I wonder what another 500mw would do for us!

    Your shot to call... If you swap... Please use some guidelines to reference performance of both... Like how many SSIDs you see in NetStumbler and maybe some dB measurements.

    ... Just checked the BIOS... <snickering as he sips his Jack>
     
  17. gravitar

    gravitar Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    120
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    who is this guy jack and why are you sipping him?
     
  18. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    . <Hic> .​
     
  19. Doobi

    Doobi ToughBook DeityInTraining

    Reputations:
    414
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    :confused2: I feel sick....:err: :wideeyed::swoon:
     
  20. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Reputations:
    1,237
    Messages:
    7,092
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Well... I just go in my plastic "chicklet" style illuminated keyboard. Of course I had to install it. I love the keyboard because the slightest tap and the keystrokes register. No forcing the keys as on the rubber type. The thing is... Just like on the rubber type... It has three levels of illumination. BUT... The CF-29 doesn't have the sensor (At least on this one.) to turn it off to save the battery. I'll have to check on the schematics and parts diagrams to see if one is available. I'm sure it would have to be.
     
Similar Threads: OFFICIAL Panasonic
Forum Title Date
Panasonic What is the official Panasonic order in which to load drivers? May 11, 2012
Panasonic CF-28 drivers - panasonic no longer officially supporting Mk 1 or 2? Feb 14, 2009
Panasonic CF-S10 is being discontinued! Officially replaced by CF-SX2 Feb 1, 2013
Panasonic It's Official Now! May 14, 2010
Panasonic <<< The "Official" CF-30 Thread >>> Jun 24, 2008

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page