1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

The new SSD Thread (Benchmarks, Brands, News and Advice)

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by Les, Jan 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    oh, and, for vista, i actually could use an usb stick and install from there haha. i really like the new setup routine of vista, very flexible.


    AND WE HAVE MORE THAN 2000 POSTS IN OUR SSD TOPIC!! *congrats*
     
  2. plasma.

    plasma. herpyderpy

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Let's get to 2009!

    Anyone have an Intel X-25E yet?

    Lol daveperman, more than a third of your posts have been from posting in the SSD Thread.

    davepermen 198
    Les 154
    John Kotches 127
    Cape Consultant 119
    sgogeta4 79
    IntelUser 70
    Spare Tire 60
    PhilFlow 50
     
  3. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    hehe. /me likes ssd's.

    i now started to contribute more and more to software issues with windows and similar. but besides that, i don't have _that_ much knowledge to share for other issues. i'm no gamer, i'm no notebook tweaker.
     
  4. StratCat

    StratCat Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    delete duplicate post

    :rolleyes:
     
  5. jlingo

    jlingo Notebook Geek

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
  6. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    --------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 2.2 (C) 2007-2008 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
    --------------------------------------------------

    Sequential Read : 79.090 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 61.563 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 79.255 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 28.877 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB : 21.398 MB/s
    Random Write 4KB : 2.366 MB/s

    Test Size : 100 MB
    Date : 2009/01/02 13:57:03


    (you can copy the text straight from the edit menu.. how cool's that?)


    i beat you :) (be aware my system is capped at 80MB/s no matter what with the mtron.
     
  7. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    if that random write test would be true, i'd have 605 IOPS per second for random write. it should be more around 50 IOPS.
     
  8. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    try that instead:

    1. grab iometer http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/iometer/iometer-2006.07.27.win32.i386-setup.exe?download<br />
    2. this iometer config http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=6566&d=1220994173
    3. extract the config file (whereever) and then open it (iometer will open)
    4. expand your PC treeview thing on the left and click worker 1
    5. in disk targets, select OCZ core drive letter
    6. click results display tab and move update frequency to say 10s (so you can watch it go)
    7. click the green go button. it allocates like 10GB file on the drive, and then will randomly write to different portions of it.

    (copied from the ocz forum)
     
  9. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
  10. stylinexpat

    stylinexpat Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I was thinking about one of those but the 32GB size sort of put me off as I currently have a 32GB SSD from Mtron in my Fujitsu and prefer to get the new 64GB SSD that should be out soon. My next two laptops that I want are the Macbook Pro and the X200 Tablet. Want to place SSD's in both of them.
     
  11. StratCat

    StratCat Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Wow!

    I'm shocked, somewhat embarrassed, and feeling a bit naïve. This is my first foray into Vista. So I decided to poke around a little, and do some cleaning up of my Vista x86 install. I stumbled upon Les' Vista guide, and decided to remove all my old restore points, keeping just the most recent one. I had 40.1GB used space prior to removal. So, how much do you think I ended up with post removal?

    17.5GB!

    Over 23GB of RP and shadow file data were removed in the click of the mouse. :eek:

    TBH, I'm absolutely amazed. I know I&#8217;ve D/L'd a lot of utilities, patches, updates, and other apps over the last 5 weeks, and always set a RP prior to any s/w or config changes, believing I was acting in good practice. But this is wild beyond my imagination. I somehow accumulated ~23GB of RP data in 5 weeks totaling ~60% of my total disk use!

    And I haven't yet touched the Vista auto-adjusted 2GB PF, all the Toshiba bloat and trial ware, or any other tweaks.

    I didn't intend to make this post drag on this long. But I may have to re-think my disk size requirements: 64GB may actually work reasonably well for me, rather than the 128GB minimum I had originally set for myself. I'm fearfull of starting to consider 32GB.
     
  12. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    hehe saves a big bunch of money :)

    my winfolder is 11.8GB currently. it's a clean windows installation, no tweaks what so ever. the programs i need are installed (visual studio f.e., traktor 3).

    if i can live with 32gb you can live with 64gb. though, more would allways be great :)
     
  13. jketzetera

    jketzetera Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    The Ultrabays of the Thinkpad X6X series are native PATA implementations. The SATA Ultrabay adapters contain SATA-to-PATA bridges which obviously degrade performance.

    Put your system drive in the Ultrabay and the Mtron benchmark drive in the real hard drive bay. Press F12 on BIOS startup and select the Ultrabay disk as boot disk. Then redo the benchmark for the Mtron and repost the results.
     
  14. jlingo

    jlingo Notebook Geek

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Ok This is my benchmark with main bay instead of ultra bay:
    --------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 2.2 (C) 2007-2008 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
    --------------------------------------------------

    Sequential Read : 94.980 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 86.947 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 94.683 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 29.488 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB : 19.777 MB/s
    Random Write 4KB : 2.810 MB/s

    Test Size : 100 MB
    Date : 2009/01/02 21:06:42
     
  15. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    looks much better. like mine without 80MB cap.
     
  16. jlingo

    jlingo Notebook Geek

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    :D
    Yup yup.., All I need to make sure now is, no stuttering at all then I would be home free.

    At the moment I activated superfetch and prefetch, indexing, everything ON. and try to use it for the whole week, see if I encountered any stuttering or problems.

    Free space: 5GB.
     
  17. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    you shouldn't. i haven't any as well.

    how big's yours again? i have 10gb freespace on a 32gb version.
     
  18. jlingo

    jlingo Notebook Geek

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I have a 64GB version and 5GB freespace :) I know I know, I'm a pretty heavy user. With 80GB intel, I had around 15GB left.

    Anyhow once everything runs very well and troublefree with 64GB Mtron 3500, I'm going to Secure Erase my intel x25-M and transferred some of the data to it. Fingercrossed.
     
  19. davepermen

    davepermen Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Messages:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    sounds great.

    btw: you may look into the post i've made above about the partition alignment. may help for the intels, too?
     
  20. John Kotches

    John Kotches Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    From a practical perspective that should not be a limiting factor as SATA1 speed limit is 150 MB/second.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page