The consequences of repasting an XPS 15 9560 and why most people shouldn't do it

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by Althernai, Mar 18, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Althernai

Althernai Notebook Virtuoso

Reputations:
    There are quite a few threads on this forum for people who modify the cooling design of the XPS 15 9650, mainly via "repasting" (i.e. changing the thermal paste of the CPU and GPU to a better one than Dell uses). In this thread, I would like to make an argument for not doing this... or at least that it is a lot harder to do right than it first appears and stopping halfway might cause problems. I'm not an expert in this so more experienced people should feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Two phenomena combine to make this harder than it looks. The first is the nature of modern CPUs and GPUs: rather than operating at a fixed clock frequency when under load, they operate between a base frequency and a boosted one. The boost is intended to speed up tasks which do not take enough time to overheat the chip. If the maximum boost is sustained for a sufficiently long time, the temperature of the chip will increase which causes the chip to lower the clock speed. It will continue to lower it as higher temperatures are reached until it stabilizes at some point between the boosted frequency and the base one. Now, the crucial point here is that (as far as I can tell; again, people can correct me if I'm wrong) the input to the clock-lowering algorithm is the temperature of the chip itself, not that of everything else in the system.