1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

t60 wireless radio on/off problem. help please!

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by dmc, Aug 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmc

    dmc Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    hey everyone. so last night i used bluetooth for the first time on my t60 (ive had it for a few months though). when i clicked on the bluetooth icon it prompted me to install a bunch of drivers, after which my wireless internet turned off. however the wireless internet light by the screen was still on. but when i hit fn+f5 to bring up the wireless menu, it said the wireless was off. when i try to turn it "on", the button on the screen is unresponsive.

    the problem seems to me to be that it thinks that it is already on (since the status light is lit up) but the thinkvantage software thinks that it is off so it cant do anything about it. i dont know if this has something to do with the bluetooth drivers installed (it went off the instant they were done downloading) but i would really like to know how to reset my wireless etc. i know my lan is not down because my friends computer can still connect to it and my desktop also works. please help!!thanks
     
  2. ShamuaL

    ShamuaL Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    did u chk the hardware wifi button in front?
    turn it off restart.. then turn it back on...
    after that u can also try re-installing access connections...
     
  3. dmc

    dmc Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    yeah i tried restarting and flipping the hardware switch. how do i go about reinstalling thinkpad connections if i cant connect to the internet? thanks.
     
  4. Nooorm

    Nooorm Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Install the latest version of Access Connections. That fixes 95% of all wireless thinkpad issues.
     
  5. dmc

    dmc Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    i just tried that with no success. i didnt notice any change at all and the wireless radio still wont power on. bleh. any other ideas?
     
  6. ShamuaL

    ShamuaL Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    try calling ibm support... see if they have anything new..
     
  7. spy98

    spy98 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Did you ever find a solution to this? I have the exact same problem. After having this problem, I uninstalled the BT device and it appears to have affect my sound drivers as well.
     
  8. Matt

    Matt Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Location:
    USA
    There are two ways in which you can turn on/off your wireless and Bluetooth.

    1) The switch on the front of your notebook.
    2) Press Fn+F5. Then click on the Wireless Radio tab. You'll see on/off buttons for both, if either is off, turn them on.

    Not sure if that helps. Not sure if anyone's mentioned that already.
     
  9. spy98

    spy98 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yeah, I uninstalled the bluetooth drivers and it took out my audio, ports, and internet (wired and wireless) connectivity. I disabled the bluetooth from the bios so it doesn't show up in windows at all anymore. The wireless ethernet is switched off, and when i fn+f5 menu to turn it on, when i click it, nothing happens. Switch in the front is set on the on (right) position. Wired internet is also not connecting.

    When I tried to uninstall or disable either the wired or wireless devices in device manager, it just freezes. Any idea on this one? At least the wired internet should come up, but no luck there either.
     
  10. acaurora

    acaurora Notebook Deity NBR Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    So you reinstalled Access Connections, and still nothing? Are you sure that you downloaded and installed the drivers as well for the WiFi ?
     
  11. mth

    mth Newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Estonia
    I have the same problem with my T60, actually I solved somehow (installing and uninstalling drivers, access connections etc. randomly) the problem with my own T60, but week ago same problem appeared on my co-workers T60. I visited our local IBM support, after some hours on driver installations etc they tested with brand new windows installation, and wifi was working perfectly, so they sugested to reinstall windows (lol).

    btw, the hardware switch must be switched on before anything, if this is switched of you can not turn on wireless via software.
     
  12. rlp

    rlp Newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Identical problem on my T60. I have noticed that if I disable the wireless connection via Network Connections in Control Panel, then the fn+f5 menu works again (does not hang), but only for bluetooth. Surely there must be a simpler solution than a complete Windows re-installation?
     
  13. pickupartist3

    pickupartist3 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have the exact same problem too, in fact I was shocked how it was almost word for word how I would have posted my dreadful set of events. If anyone has any additional insight that would be wonderful. I have tried everything suggested in this thread. I can't believe that if this many people are having this problem, Lenovo wouldn't have came up with a fix by now. I too hope that there is a quicker fix than a windows reinstallation. Please someone confirm that belief.
     
  14. daddybc

    daddybc Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I am throwing my name in the hat also. Same problem. :mad: Looking for a fix.
     
  15. johndrake

    johndrake Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
  16. daddybc

    daddybc Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I had tried this already.

    Here is what I did to "resolve" it.

    I uninstalled Access Connections.

    Installed the Intel Pro/Set Wireless Suite. Not just the driver.
    Version 11.1.1.0 from downloadfinder.intel.com.

    This got the FN+F5 key working again and it also installs a wireless access connection program similar to ThinkVantage AC program. Every thing is working fine, if I just use the Intel program.

    I have not tried to uninstall and let Windows control the wireless or install AC and try it.
     
  17. johndrake

    johndrake Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Intel program is inferior. You probably have the problem I have documented above, but just adjusted the order in which the system picks up LIBEAY32.DLL.

    Your solution is not optimal, in my opinion....
     
  18. daddybc

    daddybc Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    It may be. I have not tried uninstalling it and re-installing AC. What makes you think it's inferior to AC? I have not put either through any real tests yet.

    :rolleyes: Ya, I Probably don't have any idea how to change the Path, do a search or replace older DLL files with others. did you not see the info that: I had tried this already. ?


    That may be true. If you read my original post, you would have seen that I have not tried uninstalling the Intel Suite and installing AC yet. Just saying how I got the Fn+F5 working again.
     
  19. trparchman

    trparchman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I just encountered this problem and was successful in eliminating it by renaming libeay32.dll. However, there were some subtleties that threw me for a while. What I encountered may explain why it doesn't seem obvious at first that the solution johndrake has links to is the right one.

    Everything on my T60 was working fine until I installed Intervideo WinDVD 8. After the post-install reboot, my Intel wireless AND wired cards had become unusable toasters. I searched around the net with another PC looking for potential solutions until I stumbled upon this ultimately useful thread and johndrake's link to the DLL conflict description.

    However, when I scanned for libeay32.dll, it wasn't found in either C:\WINDOWS or C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32 nor was any path where it WAS found called out in the PATH environment variable before the Intel location. So, at first I thought "This solution sounds so reasonable it has to be right, but damn, I don't seem to have the exactly correct symptoms." It wasn't until I thought a little harder about things, that I realized another case that is not documented in the linked solution.

    WinDVD, like many programs, hooks itself up to the OS to scan in the background for things that it is interested in. In its particular case, it is looking to see if DVDs are being inserted so that it can spring into action. Because it is running as a background process, it has already loaded LIBEAY32.DLL (one of two DIFFERENT versions) that is resident under the C:\Program Files\Intervideo path.

    While a careful programmer can carefully control which DLLs they link with at run-time. A less conscientious developer (perhaps the writer's of Intel's driver package?) will always prefer a DLL already in RAM over the need to pull one off the disk from ANY path. In this particular case that causes mayhem.

    I renamed both instances of the LIBEAY32.DLL in the Intervideo path and rebooted to be rewarded with restored wireless and wired Intel NIC behavior.

    I won't make any assumptions about how other people may have interpreted the warning about the DLL. However if you, like me, were thinking that if you didn't find it under C:\WINDOWS or in an early position in the PATH that it must be something else, be warned about the more devious possibilities.

    Now, of course, my WinDVD might now be screwy in some new and unpleasant way. I guess I'll try some musical DLL games until I find a combo that makes everyone happy.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page