1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

T60 Factory Settings?

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by kdaniel6217, Jan 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kdaniel6217

    kdaniel6217 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I was thinking about setting my T60 to factory state but i dont have the CD. is there a way i can do this with out the CD?

    -thanks@
     
  2. jonlumpkin

    jonlumpkin NBR Transmogrifier

    Reputations:
    826
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Blue Button (next to volume) before boot. Follow the wizard that pops up and do a "Factory Restore".

    Make sure you have backed up ALL of your documents, music, pictures, etc. to an external device BEFORE you start this process as it will wipe your system drive clean.
     
  3. ZaZ

    ZaZ Super Model Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    4,504
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    32,192
    Likes Received:
    251
    Trophy Points:
    501
    You should burn off the recovery discs, in case you want to upgrade the hard drive. Don't forget to make a backup of the SWTools folder as well. It contains all the software and drivers installed on your machine. Start>Programs>ThinkVantage>Create Recovery Media.
     
  4. kdaniel6217

    kdaniel6217 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i have made the recovery media through thinkvantage but i dont have the 7 recovery disks. i cant restore it to factory without it.
    do you think this is good?
    http://thepiratebay.org/torrent/3948699/ThinkPad_T60p_Vista_Business_Restore_Disc

    EDIT: the blue button takes me to the page where it asks me to insert the product cd.
    I do have a regular XP boot CD. can this lead me to factory resotre?

    -thanks!
     
  5. jonlumpkin

    jonlumpkin NBR Transmogrifier

    Reputations:
    826
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I wouldn't download a recovery disc.

    Have you tried making the recovery media again?? Go to start and type "recovery" and select "Create product recovery media". This should let you create your 7 recovery discs (assuming you still have the recovery partition "Q" by default).
     
  6. ZaZ

    ZaZ Super Model Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    4,504
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    32,192
    Likes Received:
    251
    Trophy Points:
    501
    You can use DVDs too, which only uses two to three discs.
     
  7. kdaniel6217

    kdaniel6217 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    No actually i downloaded the tvtrnr42_1016en file from Lenovo site. Its a recovery unit it says.
    Ive tried it but it only gave me a single disk rescue & Recovery Startup Disk so i inserted this disk and reboot the computer. it took me to rescue recovery 4 and i followed all the way to factory restore but when it restarted to install the 7 disk part, i was stuck.


    Now i just installed my XP cd. can i still get the factory restore with a non-original windows installed?

    what exactly is the "Q"?

    EDIT: Im not too successful with the download either. 160kb in 5hrs! and the iso is 4gb.


    @ ZaZ: i have a CDRW/DVDROM. no dvd burn for me. =(
     

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page