1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

T430 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by pchome, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. pchome

    pchome Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    First, I am not brave enough. Second, why Lenovo would not offer a quad core processor in this machine if it is safely doable and appropriate. Other companies do not do it either?!!!
     
  2. bradyboyy88

    bradyboyy88 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    That is the million dollar question! All I can say is the dell e6420 offered a quad core in 14in and the cooling just didnt cut it in my opinion, however that same processor I put in lenovo t420 ,which only marketed with dual cores , kept cool. Why wouldnt this same logic apply to t430 which utilizes ivy bridge a smaller die processing configuration that produces less heat respectively
     
  3. brinox

    brinox Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    im still hung up on why the 2GB 5400m option has disappeared... anyone got any dirt on that?!!
     
  4. pchome

    pchome Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I agree with you and why would we go so far, New Sony Vaio E Series 14" did it with 3rd gen Intel® Core™ i7-3612QM quad-core processor (2.10GHz / 3.10GHz with Turbo Boost). I guess it is just that some people can get things done and some prefer to sleep on the couch as long as there are stupid buying customers like me :D
     
  5. bradyboyy88

    bradyboyy88 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Yea I looked into the Sony series and I was going to buy one because it came with free ps3 haha but the battery options is 4400mah battery with 4400mah slice for a total of 14hours which is good but Id rather have the t430 slice battery for 30+ hours !!

    Brinox I was wondering the same thing, I guess they sold out basically because I am sure anyone who put out the 250 for a ded . gpu would just pay the extra 30 to max the specs on it. I got the 1gb unfortunately with 1366x768 model on ebay for cheap but already got the hd+ screen and cable to upgrade it when it comes in . The gpu though I will have to live with the 1gb version forever :( . Then again I will probably not play to many games which utilize more than 1gb of vram so whatever.
     
  6. pchome

    pchome Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Do you really need the 30 hours battery life and are you actually buying the slice battery. I guess it depends on your priority but I would personally prefer processing power over battery life
     
  7. ThinkRob

    ThinkRob Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC, USA
    It's almost like there are multiple groups of users served by the same products... ;)

    The end-user themselves? Dunno. Maybe some end-users do?

    I do know from working in a ThinkPad-heavy environment that the ability for support to pull hard drives without voiding warranties or to swap out a broken CD-ROM drive in seconds instead of days is a major plus. Same for the ability to order a dozen or so ThinkPads, pull the drives, image them one after another, and pop them back in to the machines.
     
  8. pchome

    pchome Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Anyone received their shipping notification today?! Please, update status. Mine was supposed to ship today but it did not :( I am getting sick of it!
     
  9. chen

    chen Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I guess I am lucky because I ordered mine on the 6th of this month and it's on its way here. I remember having this same shipping issue years ago too when I tried to order from Lenovo. Btw, I want to know if anybody here is getting a mSATA ssd for upgrade?
     
  10. pchome

    pchome Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I am f... up as I ordered at 5:00 am on the 6th and did not even get a shipping notification. No one including supervisors at Lenovo can help. "They know nothing about what is going on in the warehouse and they cannot help with expediting the shipping" and thanks to Lenovo, they even removed the 2-day shipping option, so customers have to suffer. I am really having a bad experience with their shipping.
     
  11. brinox

    brinox Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    I had to cancel my order because I was a dumb[butt] and thought I could swap my current notebook's Intel 6300AGN adapter into my new T430 - but there would be a missing antenna... so I just basically moved myself to the bottom of the build list :(

    Anyway, I was able to figure out why the 2GB 5400m option is gone. Apparently there was a very limited supply during the launch and decided to take it off the ordering site(s) to alleviate a backorder situation for it.

    LUCKILY I was able to get my order for the 2GB one in before it disappeared. here's to hoping my new order isnt backordered for months or something. one can hope!
     
  12. bradyboyy88

    bradyboyy88 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    No , I probably will never need 30 hours but I like the possible upgrade in the future for bus trips and such. What kind of processing power are you looking for with a 14in business notebook? Quad core computing power? The sony quad s series is the 3612qm and its an energy efficient quad. It performs almost equivalent to i7 2720qm which is pretty good . How come you didnt choose sony then? Dell managed to get the i7 3720qm to function in their 14in notebooks but Im sure there is a catch other then the price. Probably gets hot as hell and that durable casing it has is probably just as heavy as the last model

    The Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205 AGN came with the t430 I purchased but I was hoping you could elaborate on the benefits of paying the extra 40 for your adapter or 20 for mine over the default options that are free. Is it just open source graphics and how well they work with linux that create the cost difference? I am a newb to wireless adaptors so anything would help. Thanks
     
  13. brinox

    brinox Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Its possible that I stand corrected in this comment. mSATA cards with SATA III controllers are now popping up (albeit for a significant price premium) and supposedly work without a hitch on SATA III equipped chipsets that support the original mSATA spec.

    See the review below - it could be that the mSATA implementation rides on whatever SATA revision the chipsets contain (on the mainboard AND the SSD).

    RunCore RCP V mSATA T50 SATA III 120GB SSD Review - The RunCore Pro V 2.5" SATA III SSD :: TweakTown USA Edition


    I do sincerely apologize Rezabrya!

    You might have noticed that my original order (on the first page) listed an Intel Centrino Wireless-N 2200 (2x2 BGN) adapter. the 2x2 part is what torpedo'ed my idea of migrating an Intel 6300AGN adapter into it.

    The 6300AGN card can get up to 450Mbps. It does this by using two frequency bands simultaneously, 2.4GHz and 5GHz (and requires a dual-band router on top of that, which are ALSO pricey :( ).

    To accomplish the dual-band speed, a triple antenna array is required. This is why the 6300AGN option lists "3x3", and why the cheaper 2200BGN adapter lists 2x2. 3x3 means that there are three antenna systems built into the computer and the wireless card can transmit and receive on all three antennas, whereas the 2x2 only allows transmission/reception on two antennas. I am fairly certain the 6300AGN will work with two antennas connected, it will just drop down to the 300Mbps speed. However, I am not certain that the antennas would be the best ones for that specific card.

    I just said eff it, and canceled my order and did it all right the second time around :)
     
  14. bradyboyy88

    bradyboyy88 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Ahhh thank you for that clarification. I get my t430 tomorrow. Once I get it I am going to run a couple benchmarks and see how the nvs 5400m is and the system as a whole. Should be interesting since there isnt any benchmarks for it yet. Any suggestions for what to run? I can do 3dMark if you get me a link to a free version and any other if its free. Been a while since I have done that so I will just run stock settings along with stock settings on the laptop just so it will give better comparisons
     
  15. XX55XX

    XX55XX Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    If you have Battlefield 3, give it a try on it.
     
  16. brinox

    brinox Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    I am interested in diablo 3 wink wink :)
     
  17. bradyboyy88

    bradyboyy88 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Unfortunately gamewise I only have vcod, cod2, and cod 4 mw1 and I am sure your not conscerned with that. I use to get about 250fps in cod4 with my gtx 280 and a cheap am3+ processor (desktop) so it will be neat to see this t420 with i5 will compare. Id say easily 100+ fps with medium settings for sure

    Being extremely impatient I am about to order the i7 3612 quad core to test it out. Do you think running prime95 stress test could damage anything? I mean it would shut off before anything goes bad I would think but do not have enough experience with it. If it does pass the stress test then its good to go and would most likely run stable in the long run ?????
     
  18. brinox

    brinox Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    the system will shut itself down before it causes any damage to the mainboard in terms of heat, BUT prolonged usage at 100% load/thermal spec will decrease the overall lifespan of the laptop if you run it for days at a time like that. It really is the case that these notebook systems are not designed to handle a high processor/thermal load for prolonged periods of time.

    that being said, Prime95 isnt exactly the king of 100% thermal load anymore. Google IntelBurnTest or LinX for what Intel uses to put their processors at the the highest of thermal loads. If you drop in that ULV quad core and it doesnt shut itself off relatively quickly, I am certain you'll be fine in the long run - however you may not use my technical opinion on the matter as a warranty because I provide zero support in that respect to your proposed configuration...
     
  19. icecream12345

    icecream12345 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Hi guys. I ordered mine today! :D


    ThinkPad T430 - 1 Year Depot Topseller Warranty



    Processor Intel Core i5-3360M Processor (3M Cache, up to 3.50 GHz)

    Operating system Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium (64 bit)

    Operating system language Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64 - English

    Display type 14.0" HD+ (1600 x 900) LED Backlit AntiGlare Display, Mobile Broadband Ready

    System graphics Intel HD Graphics 4000

    Total memory 4 GB PC3-12800 DDR3 (1 DIMM)

    Keyboard Keyboard Backlit - US English

    Camera 720p HD Camera with Microphone

    Hard drive 500GB Hard Disk Drive, 7200rpm

    Ultrabay DVD Recordable

    System expansion slots Express Card Slot & 4-in-1 Card Reader

    Battery 9 Cell Li-Ion TWL 70++

    Power cord 90W AC Adapter - US (2pin)

    Integrated WiFi wireless LAN adapters Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 AGN

    Integrated mobile broadband Mobile Broadband up
     
  20. bradyboyy88

    bradyboyy88 Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    How long do you think I should intelburntest for and what settings? Is there anyway to tell if there will be any more ivy bridge processors being released soon? For instance, there was initially the i7 2720 sandy bridge and months later the 2760 came out as an improvement . I would rather hold off on spending if there is going to be an update to these processors soon
     

Share This Page