Start high-end or leave room for future upgrades?

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by hendenburg2, Apr 26, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hendenburg2

hendenburg2 Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    So I'm almost done configuring a P775DM3-G from HIDEvolution, but I just am looking for one last bit of advice:

Should I start with mid-range parts (say, 16 GB of RAM instead of 32, smaller m.2 SSD, GTX1060 instead of 1070 or 1080, etc) and add upgrades later on, OR...Bite the bullet and pay much more now, which would save on P&L later on down the road.

Argument for mid-range & upgrade: My system build is already around $2700. I have plenty of experience upgrading certain parts and components of laptops, so new RAM and drives aren't a problem. Also, if I decide I want 4K gaming, I can just get a monitor for less than the upgrade cost of a 4K laptop screen. Finally, I'd rather not pay for upgrades with diminishing returns.

Argument for high end: upgrading components myself could void the warranty, and getting better components later could cost extra because of parts & labor.

Any thoughts?

2. stefan063

stefan063 Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Well If I was at you place I would rather wait few more months (2-3 depending on your income) and buy FULL SPEC then upgrade latter. MXM cards are too expensive as example latter.

3. hendenburg2

hendenburg2 Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Thanks, I'll definitely try to aim for that, but my current laptop's screen is going downhill fast and the estimate for a new screen & cables is ~$400. Rather put that into a new system than keep the old one going, so I'll hang on as long as I can.

4. Paull

Paull Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Cheap out on everything but GPU and CPU would be my advice, storage and RAM are easily and cheaply upgraded

5. Stooj

Stooj Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    Personally I would absolutely prioritise GPU first and go as high as you can.