SSD for OEM's Windows 8: still possible?

Discussion in 'Solid State Drives (SSDs) and Flash Storage' started by Future Science, Nov 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Future Science

    Future Science Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Edited post.
     
  2. DDDenniZZZ

    DDDenniZZZ Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    810
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Probably incompetence, you should be able to install on a new hard drive, since the key is stuck on the laptop somewhere, that will enable you to use it on fresh install on another hard drive.
     
  3. Abidderman

    Abidderman Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    376
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    If it is an OEM version vs retail, it is tied to the hardware. If you change the HDD it will not activate. However, in the past I have been able to call Microsoft and get it activated, just have to tell them you changed the drive. This is because they sell OEM versions of windows cheaper and this is a way to prevent piracy.
     
  4. bbz_Ghost

    bbz_Ghost Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The licensing mechanism for Windows 8 is vastly different, but if you're just adding an SSD with a cloned copy of the original hard drive installation of the OS (properly activated/licensed, and yes I'm well aware we're talking about an OEM install), it shouldn't even blink at the swap save for Device Manager installing necessary support and then requiring a reboot because of the new storage device.

    And as just noted above, if there is an issue of any kind, it's an OEM machine and as long as it has the Windows 8 COA sticker on it, you're entitled to swap/replace hardware - a phone call to Microsoft would get you situated if needed.
     
  5. HTWingNut

    HTWingNut Mostly Harmless...

    Reputations:
    20,964
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    33,225
    Likes Received:
    5,289
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I installed Windows 8 on my AMD Trinity Notebook that came with Windows 8 after swapping out the HDD with an SSD and it never even asked to activate.
     
  6. myx

    myx Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    210
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Windows activation is tied to major components like cpu or motherboard not use replaceable components like ram or drives of any kind.

    Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. AlexHoug

    AlexHoug Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    That is good to hear, I'd hate to get screwed on the licensing end by just replacing a part.
     
  8. Mossey

    Mossey Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Read my earlier post. I know it can be done and it is very simple. The second it boots with your new SSD windows 8 is activated. I have done it three times. I just created recovery media on and External USB drive. Installed the new SSD drive. Boot to the USB and do a complete recovery including the recovery partition. Done. As you could see from my post, you may have a issue booting to a USB after the SSD has a working OS.
     
  9. Peon

    Peon Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    384
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    66
    How has licensing changed? In the past, the computer was the mobo as far as Microsoft was concerned (you could upgrade anything else, but the mobo had to stay the same model). Is that no longer the case?
     
  10. HTWingNut

    HTWingNut Mostly Harmless...

    Reputations:
    20,964
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    33,225
    Likes Received:
    5,289
    Trophy Points:
    931
    That was never the case. It was some funky combination of your hardware, not just motherboard. I had an issue with XP before where I swapped the hard drive and it said my license was no longer valid. I called Microsoft and they said "nope, sorry". It was an OEM license, which I had plenty extras at the time, just frustrating that my HDD died so I replaced it and all of a sudden my XP license was no longer valid?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page