Spybot SD and Ad-Aware

Discussion in 'Security and Anti-Virus Software' started by lnknprkn, Jun 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lnknprkn

    lnknprkn Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Do Spybot SD and Ad-Aware program interfere with one another? I don't use either of them for active protection, just for scanning purposes. Today i installed Spybot SD and it said that Lavasoft's Ad-Aware might interfere with Spybot. Does this mean I can only have one working spyware removal program?
     
  2. Gregory

    Gregory disassemble?

    Reputations:
    2,869
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I think it is fine as long as you only have one doing active protection. Or in your case with neither doing active protection I think you're all set.
     
  3. Arki

    Arki Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    3,639
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I've used both before with no problems. Even had SBSD active protection on, too.
     
  4. lnknprkn

    lnknprkn Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    is the SBSD active protection a free feature?

    and if i have SBSD is there any reason to even use adaware anymore?
     
  5. Arki

    Arki Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    3,639
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Well, I dislike Ad-Aware. Their last good release was SE Personal Edition. Now I use SUPERAntiSpyware in place of it.

    But every malware scanner use different engines and yes, the SBSD active protection is a free feature. The whole software is freeware.

    If you like both products and want to use them, you should be able to use both without conflict.
     
  6. jin07

    jin07 Notebook Deity NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    1,194
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Yeah, neither program conflicts with the other, but I wouldn't recommend using them.
     
  7. webtlk

    webtlk Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    as a general rule is not advisable to use many antivirus or antispyware on the same machine because you could get false-positive. sometimes when the software gets updated it may detect the other software as a virus or a spyware. use a good antivirus and a good antispyware..that's all you need
     
  8. Gregory

    Gregory disassemble?

    Reputations:
    2,869
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I don't agree with that. Using multiple programs is fine. As a few posters listed above there isn't any interference. As long as you read all the 'block requests' that come up from one program then you can determine if it is simply another program updating. Problems only arise when people get clicky and start denying alerts without determining what the process in question belongs to.

    However, I would agree that it is unneeded to have more than one program of a particular type active scanning at once. But that is not the case here.
     
  9. ROBO HUNTER

    ROBO HUNTER Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    45
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    add superantispyware to your arsenal
     
  10. stewie

    stewie What the deuce?

    Reputations:
    3,666
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    SBSD is not bad, just don't use the Immunize feature if possible, cause your host file will get really big, then it might cause other problems later.

    For AV, I don't recommend running 2 or more AV real-time shields in a system.

    Same goes for AS, just don't run multiple real-time shields at the same time, you can install multiple AS, but don't enable the real-time shield for all of them.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page