Sony Vaio SVP1321C5E: flickering screen on battery power after Windows 10 update

Discussion in 'VAIO / Sony' started by Troxelke, Nov 20, 2019.

1. Troxelke

Troxelke Newbie

Reputations:
    I have been using my Sony Vaio Pro 13 SVP1321C5E for many years with great pleasure. However, after updating to Windows 10 I have the following problem: When using the laptop on battery power, with lower battery values (say <60%) and somewhat higher processor load (say> 40%), the screen flashes very fast (say 5-10Hz) & irregular. Very annoying and I expect that it must be a software problem, but I can't figure it out. What I have already done:

1. Reinstalled Intel HD 4400 graphics drivers, also tested different versions (Intel / Sony);
    2. Completely new clean installation of Windows 10 without any additional apps / programs installed;
    3. Energy management schemes & various variables tested, set as "balanced" as possible;
    4. Display settings at lower resolution / lower brightness (75%) / no night light set with battery use;
    5. Device management all fully installed, except for NXP5442 (NFC), because it does not work in Windows 10.
    6. Vaio update & Vaio care fully checked, gives no problems & battery condition is seen as healthy.

With the above options all still the same situation. I read on the internet many with similar problems:
    https://community.sony.co.uk/t5/pcs-accessories/sony-vaio-svf13n2c5e-flickering-screen/td-p/2260621
    https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport/comments/6vxs27/sony_vaio_pro_13_backlight_flickering_when_on/
    https://forums.tomsguide.com/threads/laptop-screen-flickers-mostly-when-unplugged.100550/
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/sony-laptop-screen-turns-black-flickers-when-unplugged.25350...

Does anyone have any more suggestions what I can do? I really getting tired of this issue ...
    Thanks in advance for any help & suggestions!
    Roy.

2. Troxelke

Troxelke Newbie

Reputations: