Silent, reliable powerhouse

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by mcvos, Aug 15, 2019.

1. mcvos

mcvos Newbie

Reputations:
    My old 17" Macbook Pro (2011) is dying, and I need a replacement. I'm a software developer and need something powerful enough to run various development tools simultaneously, compile, run virtual machines and docker containers, etc. And I'd like it to last as least as long as my old Macbook. At the same time, I'm not a big fan of Apple's direction over the past years, with less access to my own machine, and more limited to what Apple wants to allow, so I'm looking in other directions.

The questions below don't cover everything, so here's my own summary of what I want:

I want a laptop that is powerful, has a big, high quality screen, is very reliable, has a great keyboard, and is not as loud as my old Macbook; I even replaced its fans hoping that would fix the noise, but it didn't. It's too noisy once the fans kick in. I realise that airflow is always going to be a problem in a laptop, but I think laptops should be able to sound a bit less like a jet engine at take-off.

Less noise probably means requires less heat, and yet I also need power. The most obvious thing to give up is a discrete GPU, because I won't be gaming on it. Other than that, I notice that the ROG Zephyrus opens some extra space for more airflow and moved the keyboard to an awkward location for more efficient cooling. But: awkward keyboard. And it's a gaming laptop. Surely I can't be the only professional who cares about noise?

Other than that, it needs to be able to handle at least 32 GB, CPU should be powerful, but not so hot it can't be cooled without a lot of noise. It doesn't have to be the highest-numbered i7.

General Questions

1) What is your budget?

€1000 - €5000.