1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Sierra Wireless MC5725 Network Adapter help

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by Grif054, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. Grif054

    Grif054 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I will give that a try Nick. On another post I read someone suggested to physically remove the network adapter and re-install for the pc to recognize it. I cannot really find a post on where it is. I think it is under the keyboard, but not sure.
     
  2. I58SR

    I58SR Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    31
    The modem is located in the sled above the battery. Remove power, the battery and the two screws in the sled. It will then slide out. be gentle.

    It is often difficult to get this sled to seat properly and recognize the Modem. Very Temperamental.
     
  3. Grif054

    Grif054 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Well, believe it or not it my CF-30 is at Heartland for the second time. Got a call today saying they do not even know what is wrong with it. They said they replaced the modem and it is still giving an error message. They said they do not deal with software and it is probably a software related issue. I then called Toughbook support to let them know of Heatland's findings. The funny thing is I have not done any upgrades to this computer, it is 100% stock. Heartland said the modem shows that it is fine in their system but cannot connect on its own. I have tried all of the Verizon downloads available, none of them work. My question is if Heartland does not do software support, who does?
     
  4. I58SR

    I58SR Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Wow! No support for software? That does not sound right. I have Verizon service and could send you an 80 gig drive verified working Verizon with XP, if this does not work its not going to work. I’ll just need a day or two to setup the drive. Got any Toughbook stuff to trade?

    -Nick
     
  5. Grif054

    Grif054 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I wish I had something to trade you Nick. This is my first toughbook and I dont have any parts yet. We will see what they have to say today. It is getting pretty frustrating every time I get the thing back I still get the same "Code 10, the device cannot start" error message. I asked Heartland why they did not replace the modem the first time they had the Toughbook. They said they may have missed the error message then, or it was not present. But as far as the second error message, they don't know why it is there. I am starting to wonder if it is a Vista related issue. I am in the tree business and I use this pc for estimating and customer management. This is not the time of year to be without it.
     
  6. Grif054

    Grif054 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Well, I got the Toughbook back from Heartland today. Guess what, same problem as before, Code 10. I just spent another 2 hours on the phone with Panasonic, re-installed recovery CD, VZ access manager, drivers, etc. I am waiting for some sort of support manager from Panasonic to call me back. Heartland says there is nothing more they can do. They said they installed a new modem just for my satisfaction and that it has to be a software related issue. Panasonic says it has to be a hardware issue, and Heartland is not finding it. They said Heartland has to do a deeper search. I am not sure how much longer I can go without my Toughbook. I am in the tree business and use it everyday, (kind of our busy season right now). Not really looking for any help, just venting! LOL
     
  7. I58SR

    I58SR Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Well thats bad news. I posted this before perhaps you,ll agree...

    These sleds are the most challenging, poorest supported, very temperamental option to get working.

    -Nick
     
  8. Shawn

    Shawn Waiting 4 sanity 2 return

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    351
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Razor's edge between genious and insanity
    I have an usb adapter that had a sprint modem in it. I could send it to you to try your modem via usb. I might also still have the sprint modem here. I don't remember if I unlocked it or not. Stuff is just collecting dust. Shoot me $5 for postage and I'll send what I got.
    A question is the oem modem specific for verizon?
     
  9. Grif054

    Grif054 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I have one question. If heartland says all hardware checks out O.K. on their system, does that mean it probably is a software issue? Also, it is kind of funny that they installed a brand new modem and I am still getting the same error message. Now Panasonic has me downloading all of the Windows updates since they re imaged my hard drive. After that, they said it has to go back to Heartland for a third time if it does not work. Everytime I send it to Heartland they call me and pretty much say, "what are you sending this here for?". And I say, "Panasonic made me!" LOL And anyways, I don't know why I am sending it there it is only going to come back with the same error message. I could not imagine what this would cost if I did not have a warranty. I am about ready to tell someone to send me a different computer! LOL
     
  10. Grif054

    Grif054 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I am not sure if the Modem is Verizon specific or not. I sure appreciate your offer. I am going to go around one more time here. If nothing works, I will send you a Youtube link to see a Toughbook go through my tree chipper!! Maybe that will get the darn modem working.
     
  11. kb9kst

    kb9kst Notebook Geek

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Buy one of these : VERIZON SIERRA WIRELESS AC595U REV A USB MODEM | eBay

    I have sprint and took the MC5725U out of a Sprint 595u and put it in my CF19 MK3. Works like a charm. I have a MC5725 that I can't get either watcher to see as well (either sprint or verizon). Its a Lenovo model MC5725. I bet thats what yours is.

    Jason
     
  12. I58SR

    I58SR Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I bought one of the Lenovo model MC5725 off the bay too. I could not get it work in any Toughbook, Perhaps it's locked to IBM models.
     
  13. Grif054

    Grif054 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Well, believe it or not I got it! With no tech support I might add. I do not know how or why it works now but it does.
     
  14. Grif054

    Grif054 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Thank you everyone for all of your help.
     
  15. I58SR

    I58SR Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Dam....Quick! Create a restore point! The issue I had with mine is it would get stuck on extended area service 1xRTT. This is so slow it's really not usable. Here is how to lock it to REV A....

    Lock Your Verizon Modem to 3G/EVDO Only
    Below are the instructions to set your Verizon modem to 3G-only mode:
    1. Open VZAccess Manager with your card inserted, but do NOT connect to the internet.
    2. Hold Control + D
    3. You will be prompted to enter a password. Enter: "diagvzw"
    4. Select "Settings" from the menu
    5. Select "HDR Only" for "preferred operating mode", (This is the only setting that should be changed)

    6. Save settings, then close and restart VZAM.
    Once you restart VZAM, your modem will only be able to connect to 3G/EVDO. If you travel to an area where only 1xRTT coverage is available, you can easily change your settings back by following the steps above and selecting "automatic" as your "preferred operating mode".
     
  16. Grif054

    Grif054 Notebook Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Thank you, I am going to do that right now.
     
  17. Sadlmkr

    Sadlmkr Freelance

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    N.W. California
    Above from post 2. One on, two off, three on, four off.

    Thanks for this Glen and to teo (Ohlip) of course. Here are the pictures taken today. Switches set to EVDO are on the right.(verizon.jpg). Access was through small panel/door on bottom of CF-19F. You set me straight and Verizon Access Manager runs fine now.

    Jeff
     

    Attached Files:

  18. drdroopy15

    drdroopy15 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    How did you get it to be seen by the toughbook? Im told mine is a HP MC5725. How do I unlock it to work with toughbooks?
     

Share This Page