Setup mSATA as Cache Drive

Discussion in 'Alienware 18 and M18x' started by zonearc, Nov 17, 2012.

  1. zonearc

    zonearc Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does anyone have a link to a guide that can show me how to set up the mSATA drive that comes in the R2's as a cache drive to the 750GB Sata HD? I read this was an option, but its just showing the mSATA drive as a 32GB storage volume which wouldn't make it a cache drive. I thought I read you could set it up almost like an auto-tiering cache for performance boost.

    Thanks =)
     
  2. Meaker

    Meaker Company Representative

    Reputations:
    6,026
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    30,784
    Likes Received:
    2,778
    Trophy Points:
    581
  3. zonearc

    zonearc Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm not at home, so I watched this on my phone with a lot of distractions. But it looks like software controls the caching, done by installing software in windows post installation. Sounds easy enough, should be able to figure it out. Thanks!
     
  4. Alienware-Luis_Pardo

    Alienware-Luis_Pardo Guest

    Reputations:
    1,141
    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. MogRules

    MogRules Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    769
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Is re-installing Windows a neccesary requirement for enabling this? I disabled my cache drive when I first got the computer as I installed a 120gb OCZ drive but I would like to re-enable the 80gb mSATA as a cache drive for my 750gb storage drive.
     
  6. Alienware-L_Porras

    Alienware-L_Porras Company Representative

    Reputations:
    3,619
    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,383
    Likes Received:
    873
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Sometimes it won't work if you don't do it that way. Also it's better if the cache is created on a clean install for it to be more efficient.
     
    MogRules likes this.
  7. MogRules

    MogRules Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    769
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Hmm...alrighty then, guess it will have to wait for my days off :p

    Thanks for the info Porras :)
     
  8. MogRules

    MogRules Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    769
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Still does not show up after a fresh install......All I get instead of an accelerate option is a performance tab that allows me to turn off a power option to the drive and that's it.
     
Similar Threads: Setup mSATA
Forum Title Date
Alienware 18 and M18x mSATA caching drive setup for 2 x 1TB individual HDD's? Aug 2, 2013
Alienware 18 and M18x Best Way to Buy in Canada? Alienware M18x Looked at, Dual RADEON R9 Setup, Value List $ 3,500 + Jun 10, 2014
Alienware 18 and M18x How to backup up the entire setup before customisation Feb 20, 2014
Alienware 18 and M18x Audio setup for new Alienware 18? Nov 16, 2013
Alienware 18 and M18x Can I drive a P-L-P setup off m18xr1 Jun 29, 2013

Share This Page