1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

>>> SetFSB Auto Tool v1.0 <<< - OC your CPU automatically -

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by Audigy, May 13, 2008.

  1. Audigy

    Audigy Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    [​IMG]v2.0​


    What is SetFSB?

    SetFSB is a program that makes possible control the PLL(Clock Generator) on your board, so you can control the FSB and PCI/PCI-E buses while in Windows. That way you can overclock your CPU and system memory too.


    What is SetFSB Automatic Tool?

    I decided to make this tool, because when you shutdown(to power off/standby) all the settings that you have made within SetFSB are lost. Then you need to re-enter and re-setting the FSB again.

    So with this tool you don´t need to do anything, it will set a predefined overclock automatically on systems boot.

    Because the M570RU´s clock generator resets on shutdown(standby) but keeps its settings when you restart(the power is not cut), this tool will automatically detect that situation an will not rise the FSB again.




    How to in 5 steps:


    1________________________________________________________________

    Download SetFSB from here: http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSB.rar

    Extract and run SetFSB.exe. Then click the install button. (It will create a folder with the SetFSB files on C:\)

    [​IMG]


    2________________________________________________________________

    Then download the SetFSB Auto Tool for your CPU model, with the desired overclock. Place it anywere you like, desktop, programs, etc.

    [​IMG]


    3________________________________________________________________

    Then click Start -> All Programs -> Startup. Right click over "Startup", chose open/explore.

    [​IMG]


    4________________________________________________________________

    Now that we have the Startup folder open, copy the SetFSBAutoTool.exe to the Startup folder.

    [​IMG]


    5________________________________________________________________

    Finally, check the Startup folder via Start Menu to confirm.

    [​IMG]

    Make sure that you select the ICS9LPR363DGLF as your Clock Generator(on Clevo M57xRU-U).

    [​IMG]


    _________________________________________________________________

    For an T7250/T7300:

    (New version 2.1!) 2.1Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7300_2.1.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.2Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7300_2.2.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.3Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7300_2.3.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.4Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7300_2.4.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.5Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7300_2.5.rar
    _________________________________________________________________

    For an T7500:

    (New version 2.1!) 2.3Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7500_2.3.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.4Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7500_2.4.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.5Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7500_2.5.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.6Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7500_2.6.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.7Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7500_2.7.rar
    _________________________________________________________________

    For an T7700/T8300:

    (New version 2.1!) 2.5Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7700_2.5.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.6Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7700_2.6.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.7Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7700_2.7.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.8Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7700_2.8.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.9Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7700_2.9.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 3.0Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T7700_3.0.rar
    _________________________________________________________________

    For an T9300:

    (New version 2.1!) 2.6Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T9300_2.6.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.7Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T9300_2.7.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.8Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T9300_2.8.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 2.9Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T9300_2.9.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 3.0Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T9300_3.0.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 3.1Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T9300_3.1.rar
    (New version 2.1!) 3.2Ghz - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_T9300_3.2.rar
    _________________________________________________________________

    For an T7800/T9500:

    2.7Ghz - Soon!
    2.8Ghz - Soon!
    2.9Ghz - Soon!
    3.0Ghz - Soon!
    3.1Ghz - Soon!
    3.2Ghz - Soon!
    _________________________________________________________________

    For an X7900/X9000:

    2.9Ghz - Soon!
    3.0Ghz - Soon!
    3.1Ghz - Soon!
    3.2Ghz - Soon!
    3.3Ghz - Soon!
    3.4Ghz - Soon!
    3.5Ghz - Soon!
    _________________________________________________________________

    Every time your computers starts, the SetFSB Auto Tool will automatically apply the predefined overclock to your CPU. Remember to test first manually, if the overclock that you desire is stable. Only then your should use this tool.

    If in the future your don´t want the overclock applied, just delete the .exe from the Startup folder. If you want any other speed just download the SetFSBAutoTool with the speed that you desire for your model, and apply it, starting from the step 2.



    New Tool - SetFSB Auto Tool OC OFF - http://audigyapps.com.sapo.pt/SetFSBAutoTool_OCoff.rar

    This new .exe will reset your CPU to stock speeds when overclocked. Just copy it to your desktop or any other place and double-click on it.

    [​IMG]

    Code:
    [B]Release Notes:[/B]
    
    12/5/2008 v1.0
    [I]- First release![/I]
    
    13/5/2008 v1.1
    [I]- Improved tool speed
    - Minor bugfixes
    - Improved restart detection argorithm
    - Improved stability[/I]
    
    14/5/2008 v2.0
    [I]- 100% new code
    - Better support on diferent GUI DPI settings
    - Improved tool speed
    - Improved stability
    - New OC OFF Tool released[/I]
    
    16/5/2008 v2.1
    [I]- Improved stability
    - New installer, safer and easier to apply[/I]
    
    *For version v2.2, new icons and some improvements...
    
    Compatible with:

    - Vista x86/x64
    - XP x86/x64



    I hope that this little tool will be useful to you, as it was for me... ;)

    * I tested it exhaustively, but if you find any bug or error, please report it in this topic.
     
  2. Nirvana

    Nirvana Notebook Prophet

    Messages:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you just read my mind? lol I was just about to ask questions of this tool!! +rep!
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Mastershake

    Messages:
    11,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    455
    nice.. i have my bios now showing the options to oc from it.. but they are greyed out?? im working on hopefully a way to do this directly from the bios.. but this tool def rocks. nice..
     
  4. dazzyd

    dazzyd Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Wow.. bravo!! for this tool any luck with a Q6700 chip.??
     
  5. Nirvana

    Nirvana Notebook Prophet

    Messages:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to make it clear before i blow up my new toy, my t8300 able to OC to 3.0Ghz?
     
  6. vashts121

    vashts121 Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    What about a T7700 at 2.4ghz? I didn't know there were different speeds for one cpu.
     
  7. Nirvana

    Nirvana Notebook Prophet

    Messages:
    5,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @vashts121, those 2.5Ghz to 3.0Ghz are our target speeds, select the one which you would like to OC at.
     
  8. XPS1330

    XPS1330 Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hope this doesn't wear out my T7500. Thanks for the heads up. Never knew laptop CPU's were OC'able.

    EDIT: Will this be OK for a DELL XPS M1530?
     
  9. Sotsu

    Sotsu Notebook Guru

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I'm suddenly curious on how high you could safely push a T9300.
     
  10. maksin01

    maksin01 Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Sounds good. +rep :) I'll be waiting for the files for my T7300. ;)
     
  11. eleron911

    eleron911 HighSpeedFreak

    Messages:
    11,103
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    456
    Nice one Audigy,I see you already did what I wanted so my T7500 will be having 2.5Ghz from now one. :D
     
  12. pasoleatis

    pasoleatis Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Nice. What about the D901C? :-S
     
  13. eleron911

    eleron911 HighSpeedFreak

    Messages:
    11,103
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    456
    Coming soon lol :D
     
  14. bigjohnsonforever

    bigjohnsonforever Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    waiting for 9300.... :D
     
  15. Audigy

    Audigy Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Thanks to everyone ;)

    I´m working on then right now... I will add then later on.

    For now, and because it´s only the first version(v1.0) it will be for M57XRU-U only... try first using SetFSB manually, runing the setfsb.exe from the packet from the 1st step.

    I will gradly add support for it in the future...

    :D Yes I think it will can...

    My T7700 OCs to 2.9Ghz with no probs, Orthos stable. Because your T8300 releases less heat on LOAD contitions, needs less power(VCore) and it´s die size it´s srinked to 45 nm, if your chipset hold the FSB increase, I think it will overclock to 3.0Ghz with no probs...

    Nop, it will not wear your T7500 significantly...

    Remember that an CPU have an MTTF(Mean time to failure) of 10, maybe 20 years. Even with overclock, your CPU will live long enough until you buy another one...

    Just remember to keep an eye on the CPU temperatures. An "Meron" will start throthling at 100ºC, so try keep it below that, 85ºC or less is the ideal.

    As high as your system can... remember that every CPU is tested on it´s fabrication, then in this process, the fabricator will atribute an stock speed wich that CPU runs stable, with an safety margin(wich on some cases can be as much as 20%). So what we are doing with overclocking, is explore that safety margin.

    Because we can´t rise the default VCore(only lower it), the CPU will not be damaged in any way.

    Just remember to keep an eye on the temperatures.


    ;)
     
  16. Audigy

    Audigy Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    New version v1.1

    Code:
    [B]Release Notes:[/B]
    
    12/5/2008 v1.0
    [I]- First release![/I]
    
    13/5/2008 v1.1
    [I]- Improved tool speed
    - Minor bugfixes
    - Improved restart detection argorithm
    - Improved stability[/I]
    
    Working on T7300/T9300/T9500/X9000 right now... I´m expecting to release them later today ;)
     
  17. Garandhero

    Garandhero Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    So I can do this on my 5792 2.4ghz (t7700) Proc? Does u have to do it every time you boot? or do the OC's stick?

    Also say I wanted to get rid of the overclock at some point and just go back to stock? How would I do that?
     
  18. MrProim

    MrProim Notebook Consultant

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Wow nice man!

    Waiting for T9300 ^^
     
  19. eleron911

    eleron911 HighSpeedFreak

    Messages:
    11,103
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    456
    Audigy has his T7700 at 2.9 , so YES, you can OCit just fine.
    He said support for them to OC automatically will be released soon :)
     
  20. sterben

    sterben Notebook Consultant

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Very Nice, Audigy.

    I tried out the T7500 one with my NP5790. My 3dmark06 score jumped from 8300 to 9350ish, twice in a row, and neither time did my core temps hit over 70 on default fans (max non-OC was something like 62-63ish, with OC was 69). I might try out prime95 later to see what happens :p
     

Share This Page