Sending Wireless Signal FROM Laptop to second wired wireless router?

Discussion in 'Networking and Wireless' started by Batmaniac, Jan 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Batmaniac

    Batmaniac Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    You see, my laptop can see my wireless signal but my PDA can't when in the same room as my laptop.

    I have two routers (and wiring the second router from the first and using it as an access point isn't an option).

    Is there any way I can send the wireless signal from my laptop obtained from the parent router to the other wireless router (through an ethernet cable) and then connect my PDA to the second router as an access point?

    I tried connecting the router from the LAN and WAN port and bridging my wireless connection with the LAN connection from the router connected to my laptop. In both cases (through LAN and WAN ports on the wired router), I was not able to connect to the original wireless signal after I bridged the connections.

    Any help would be appreciated,

    Thanks.
     
  2. Patrick

    Patrick I beat spamers with stiks Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,284
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,383
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well, first off, what wireless capabilities do both your laptop and pda support. It sounds like the router may not be set to the right network (IE if your pda is only wireless-b, the router could only be sending out g).
     
  3. Batmaniac

    Batmaniac Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    My router sends mixed b/g, my HTC Dream can detect the signal but it's so weak it drops out more than it connects.
     
  4. downloads

    downloads Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,302
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,826
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    281
    OK- it seems half of my posts in this sub-forum start this way but…
    Use inSSIDer to see what signal strength is and what channels are being used.
    It may be enough to change the wireless channel to one that’s not occupied and preferably one that is not overlapping (that is 1, 6, and 11 for the US and 1, 5, 9 and 13 in Europe)

    EDIT: inSSIDer is here: http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider
     
  5. Batmaniac

    Batmaniac Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I have an app on my phone which I used to scan wireless channels when I lived in an apartment with many signals. At the moment I'm living up in the middle of nowhere and there are no other wireless signals so I shouldn't have any problems with a channel being occupied. Although I'm not sure what you meant about overlapping.
     
  6. downloads

    downloads Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,302
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,826
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Overlapping would concern you only if there were some neighbouring networks.
    I'd recommend using inSSIDer anyway- that's unless your PDA reports signal strength, but on the other hand it's the PDA that has problems connecting not the laptop so I'd rather use laptop for scanning.
     
  7. Batmaniac

    Batmaniac Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Yeah I do trust the inSSIDer signal strengths more than I would the app on my phone. However, my phone can connect perfectly to my wireless connection when I'm closer to the router, it has no problems connecting, it just doesn't have as good of a receiver as my laptop's (which I'd expect).

    I'm trying to find workarounds that are free and don't involve me hardwiring ethernet cables around the house (that's not an option). That would rule out buying a wireless router capable of ddwrt and setting it up as a wireless repeater halfway between the router and the room I'm trying to get signal in.

    I'm looking for an option that could involve transferring the wireless signal from my laptop to a second router I have that I hooked up to the ethernet port on my laptop, then having that laptop send out the signal which I could then connect to it with my phone as an access point.
     
  8. Patrick

    Patrick I beat spamers with stiks Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,284
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,383
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No it doesn't. You can set dd-wrt up in repeater mode so that it both connects over wifi and also extends over wifi.
     
  9. Batmaniac

    Batmaniac Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I know, I was saying it's ruled out because I'm looking for a workaround that's free. =) The second router I have doesn't support ddwrt and the first router isn't mine to tamper with (belongs to the landlady).
     
  10. downloads

    downloads Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,302
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,826
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    281
    What's your operating system and wireless card?

    EDIT:If you are using Win 7 this may work for you: http://www.connectify.me/about.html
    There is also an option called SoftAP for Broadcom drivers but there are some things I'm not sure of at the moment- does it work as AP only when internet access is provided via cable connection and does it even work with systems other that Win XP and/or drivers newer than 3.100.xx
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page