Semi-Rugged Laptop for Oceanographic Use

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Klems87, Sep 22, 2019.

1. Klems87

Klems87 Newbie

Reputations:
    Hello everyone, I have a bit of a unique work situation and I am trying to figure out the best semi-rugged laptop for my line of work. I have been researching something suitable for a few years and I think the industry has finally caught up to what I need, but looking for some actual user viewpoints.

Background: I work for a marine tech company where we design and build various marine components and vehicles (ROVs, surface vehicles, etc). My primary duties are office related where I write technical documentation and user manuals. My secondary duties are field related were we often have 8+ hour days out on the ocean testing our equipment in small boats. I like having the capability to easily switch between the two environments. I also have my own marine survey company.

This has lead to some unique requirements:
    1. It needs to be sunlight readable.
    2. It needs to be splash resistant against salt spray.
    3. It needs to have a desktop dock so I can use 2x monitors for spreadsheets and technical writing.
    4. Powerful enough to run ArcGIS Pro.

My primary laptop since 2016 has been a MS Surface Pro 4 in a Mobile Demand rugged case. It has worked well allowing me to switch between environments, but lacks a sunlight readable display.

I typically buy computers that are powerful enough to still be relevant 3-4 years later, so I usually go high end on the CPU and middle of the road in terms of storage space.

I have narrowed my choices to the following:
    Panasonic Toughbook 55
    Dell Latitude 5420 Rugged

I'll have some more questions at the end of the general ones.

General Questions

1) What is your budget?
    $2500-3500

This is more based on what a semi-rugged will cost. A fully rugged laptop is out of my price range.

2) What size notebook would you prefer?