1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Screen Calibration CF-18, how??

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by deluxe, Apr 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deluxe

    deluxe Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Nh
    CF-18 Mk1 with XP Pro, and SP3, then installed all the pertinent stuff from the Japanese Panasonic site (it's not the WLAN model, so none of that), as per instructions here:-
    http://pc-dl.panasonic.co.jp/cgi-bin/itn/toughbook/dl01.cgi
    So, I followed these instructions:
    http://pc-dl.panasonic.co.jp/cgi-bin/itn/toughbook/dl02.cgi?main=4510
    And followed the basic installation order from here(bottom of post #1):
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=364032

    Issue: everything works just fine, however the screen calibration is off by about 5 to 10 mm, depending on where on the screen you tap.

    There doesn't seem to be any way of calibrating the screen. Under Start>All Programs>Panasonic, there is no screen calibration tool. I have opened all the Panasonic utilities, and there is no screen calibration property in any of them.

    Do people install something else to calibrate screens, if so, what??

    I note there is no screen calibration software on the Panasonic site for the Mk1, but it exists for the Mk2 and newer CF-18's. What would happen if I were to use the program for screen rotation for the Mk2 on my Mk1, would it work, or would it not even install??
     
  2. capt.dogfish

    capt.dogfish The Curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North of Boston
    deluxe,
    In the lower right hand corner of your screen in the tool tray there should be two icons which look like little lcds. One is marked with a L and is for right clicking, the other which has a touch pad is for screen calibration in addition to a couple of other functions. Right click on the latter and follow the instructions.
    CAP
     
  3. Alex

    Alex Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4,297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Look in the utilitys folder that you unextracted the mouse/touchscreen driver
    Is there a calibration utility/icon in the folder?


    Alex
     
  4. deluxe

    deluxe Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Nh
    Great!!!
    Thanks Tomcat57 and capt.dogfish. You are both correct. I was beginning to despair a little.....so much work doing a 100% setup, and to fail at the last hurdle.

    Now, is it me, or is this a less-than-obvious way of getting to perfection ;-) ??
     
  5. deluxe

    deluxe Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Nh
    Hopefully one last question: what does this do
    Checknet-2.11L10D-2kxp-nonlogo-M-web.zip
    and how necessary is it to install it?
     
  6. Alex

    Alex Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4,297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
    Don’t worry about installing that
    It’s old and obsolete
    Is was used on GPRS modem models only

    Alex
     
  7. deluxe

    deluxe Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Nh
    Thanks
    Knew there would be (at least) one more question ;-)
    Are there any BIOS updates, or other updates that don't show on the Panasonic site??
     
  8. ohlip

    ohlip Toughbook Modder

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Puerto Galera, (Phils.-The land of stupid trapo.,c
    You must first post what bios you have on your system so that will see if it has a bios update for your unit.


    ohlip
     
  9. deluxe

    deluxe Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Nh
    Pressing F2 on boot yields:-

    BIOS:- V1.00L13A

    I doubt this is needed, but Embedded Controller is:- V1.00L16
    ----------------------------------------------
    However, perusal of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DEDESCRIPTION\System reveals
    System BIOS date 6/13/03
    System BIOS Version: PTLTD-6040000 Phoenix FIRSTBIOS(TM Notebook Pro Version 2.0A Ver 1.00 PARTTBL
    --------------------------------------------------
    When I run "System Information" from my thumb Drive, I get:
    Vendor: Phoenix Technologies K.K.
    BIOS Version: V1.00L13A
    Date: 06/13/2003
    ---------------------------------------------------

    I'd like to know where you look this up, to determine whether updates are needed. That old "Teach a man to fish....." thing.
     
  10. Toughbook

    Toughbook Drop and Give Me 20!

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,093
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Back in Ol' Virginia! FINALLY! (Almost on the rive
    You're straight... There are no open BIOS updates for your model...
     
  11. deluxe

    deluxe Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Nh
    Thanks for checking.
    Apart from visiting the Panasonic site, and checking the downloads section under BIOS, is there any other method for seeking out updates (not just for the BIOS) that I should be aware of??
     
  12. blargh.blargh.blargh

    blargh.blargh.blargh Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I just calibrate the screen with:

    Control Panel > Mouse > Touchscreen > Calibrate
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page