1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Samsung Easy Settings - Slow?

Discussion in 'Samsung' started by pilotrose, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. pilotrose

    pilotrose Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have a Samsung NP700Z5A-S04US and I love it. But one thing that has been bothering me is how slow the "Samsung Easy Settings" program is to load.

    If I want to toggle wifi on or off, or something like that, it'll open up the program, but it typically takes 3-5 seconds to load which is pretty annoying.

    So I'm just curious if other people with similar laptops using this app experience the same?

    Thanks!
     
  2. matthewf123

    matthewf123 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yes, yes, god yes!

    Turning Wifi on/off using the keyboard hotkey could be so simple -- I want the light to blink on or off, and just leave it at that. But all it does is launch Easy Settings' Wifi tab, which takes at LEAST 10 seconds to fully load. Terrible!

    Hoping my impending SSD upgrade will rectify this slightly, we'll see.
     
  3. sean.e

    sean.e Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    ca, usa
    confirmed.
     
  4. pilotrose

    pilotrose Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Any workarounds? If you uninstall the software, is there alternative software we can use, or are we forced to use this rather slow software?
     
  5. matthewf123

    matthewf123 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Well, to make deeper settings adjustments I can tolerate the wait for launching easy settings... but the app loads faster if you launch easy settings (fn F2) than if you toggle wifi directly (fn F12)
    Intel's My Wifi app running in the tray has an option to turn on/off the wifi radio, but it doesnt seem to sync with the Easy Settings on.off state so I cant tell if its completely powering off the wifi module or not.
     
  6. pilotrose

    pilotrose Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yeah it does seem to load just a tad bit faster if you load the easy settings rather than going directly to the wifi in easy settings.

    Hmmmm
     
  7. psycho2097

    psycho2097 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Wow...I thought my laptop had an issue. Glad its being tracked.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
     
  8. XtremeProject

    XtremeProject Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    At Home
    I think it's does not stay loaded in background. This could be reason why since you have to load it up every time.
     
  9. pilotrose

    pilotrose Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Any way to force the program to stay loaded in the background?
     
  10. jw1001

    jw1001 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    For me, the real problem is that it takes so much time to load to turn down the volume. That is something that should be close to instantaneous. You don't want to wake the house up.
     
  11. sean.e

    sean.e Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    ca, usa
    Volume works via Fn+F6,F7,F8 for me without opening Easy Settings. Do you have dmhkcore.exe running?
     
  12. matthewf123

    matthewf123 Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    SSD upgrade complete.

    OK, yes --- now launching Easy Settings wifi control using FN F12 is much faster.

    Still not instant, and still annoying that the key combo doesnt DIRECTLY toggle the setting on/off for me, and instead just shows you the setting... but better than before.
     
  13. pilotrose

    pilotrose Notebook Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yeah most of the FN functions, well, all of them that do not open the Easy Settings program are very quick if not instant. The Easy Settings link, and wifi on/off are the two that are slow, because they load the program.

    Basically I think everyone, including myself, would like a quick toggle of all wireless off, wifi on with bluetooth off, wifi off and bluetooth off, bluetooth on and wifi off. Most computers have that sort of setup.

    Since we don't have a manual switch to turn on/off the wifi, it'd be nice to have a better software/FN solution.
     
  14. Sir Punk

    Sir Punk Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Chicago
    it's easy guys, just forget about the easy settings and put a shortcut on your desktop to your Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network Connections.
    and you can do the same with Bluetooth. But yes it's annoying because on mine even the brightness adjustment lags.
     
  15. turn8

    turn8 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    this easy settings app is garbage if you plan on running your own monitor calibration since the app takes over color profiles and changes them on boot up.

    my only option to get it to stop was to uninstall it, if i need to change something i guess i am out of luck.
     

Share This Page