SAGER NP8851 vs ASUS ROG Strix (et al)...HELP!

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by LeiEn, Apr 17, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LeiEn

LeiEn Notebook Geek

Reputations:
    Hey squad!

So, I've been agonizing over what new ultrabook to buy for a few weeks (er...months) now. I'm a graphic designer by trade, but a gamer at heart who is increasingly ready to dip my toes into VR. That said, I've been trying to decide between these two beasts:

Sager NP8851:
    https://www.sagernotebook.com/Notebook-NP8851.html

ASUS ROG:
    http://www.xoticpc.com/asus-strix-scar-gl703gs-ds74.html

I've got both of them spec'd out with Samsung Evo 250GB NVME SSDs + 1TB Crucial MX500 SSDs and extended (2-year) warranties for about USD2K each. They both have the new i7-8750H, but the GPU's are different.

The problem I'm having is the spec trade-off, which I'll try to list below. Feel free to weigh in on brand, specs, or general opinion on which machine is the better buy...or just come languish with me in indecisive purgatory after concluding that I'd be happy with either one (yet always wondering 'what if' I'd gotten the other).

SAGER PROS/CONS: