Ryzen vs i7 (Mainstream); Threadripper vs i9 (HEDT); X299 vs X399; Xeon vs Epyc

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by ajc9988, Jun 7, 2017.

  1. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,150
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    6,576
    Trophy Points:
    581
    Evidently not with mine. Here are two images. I couldn't get the ram stable at normal clocks again, but got them close enough and roughly similar voltages. Aside from that, the one with the 1.55V VID is the one with my custom fan and pump profiles which favor sound a little more than stock on those.
    BIOS
    upload_2018-6-11_12-9-31.png
    RyzenMaster
    upload_2018-6-11_12-15-58.png

    I do not know the cause, but as you can see, they are the same, just that different values being incorrectly reported to the software somewhere. Notice how low my CPU wattage is (203 to 208 max on CPU Core Power in HWInfo64 @3.95). Also inconsistencies on HEDT being enabled, etc. But, they are roughly in line.

    Edit: Also notice the 227W on CPU Package @3.95. Now that is a nice chip! All cores, 1.181V (which is can do 1.175, but I wanted to do them the same and the Vdroop hits harder for my RyzenMaster OC and showed slight instability).
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2018
    hmscott likes this.
  2. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,150
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    6,576
    Trophy Points:
    581
    Now that we have the software issue figured out and better figures to work with on talking about the silicon, my 4GHz is around 1.225 or so, and my 4050 is 1.2875V stable with gooseberry, sandra sisoft, V-ray and Corona loops, and 1hr on the newer realbench. My block on the CPU is the XSPC TR4 block, and I'm using Koolance universal VRM blocks for both sets of VRM (hence the 40C), with 3x480s on the radiators and two swiftech 50x pumps. And, I did buy this chip from silicon lottery, top bin BEFORE they had the 4GHz binning (was one of the purchasers on day one and got one of the best chips at the 3.95 binning). So, some good stuff in this system.
     
    hmscott likes this.
  3. jaybee83

    jaybee83 Biotech-Doc

    Reputations:
    3,027
    Messages:
    10,404
    Likes Received:
    7,264
    Trophy Points:
    931
    man thatd be super sweet if TR2 also managed to do 4.35....
     
    hmscott likes this.
  4. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,150
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    6,576
    Trophy Points:
    581
    Only the 8-16 core variants, if released, MIGHT be able to hit that, like the Ryzen 2000 counterparts. The 32-core variant, that is a pipe dream. Expect roughly 4.2 for the average on the 16-core chips, just like the 8-core 2700X.

    Edit: Also, notice how my 3.95GHz runs a max of 66C on Gooseberry in blender. Have you ever run that bench? I finish in 22-23 min.
    upload_2018-6-11_12-53-57.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2018
    jaybee83 and hmscott like this.
  5. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,315
    Messages:
    8,876
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Trophy Points:
    431
    I di not expect, but I could see the 32 core reaching 3.2 GHz on water. It would be a 480mm custom water loop (like the Intel that was on display) and the board needs to be a newer one with a HUGE VRM section.
     
    hmscott and ajc9988 like this.
  6. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,150
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    6,576
    Trophy Points:
    581
    They are working on the 32 core reaching 3.4GHz on air, but I would still recommend the 19 phase board by MSI or other boards forthcoming and a 480mm custom water loop to really deal with it. But, as you can see, the top bins for the TR1 16-core can reach 4GHz all core clock around the 250W package power for the TR2.
     
    jaybee83 and hmscott like this.
  7. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,315
    Messages:
    8,876
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Trophy Points:
    431
    @4.0 GHz 1.375, 3200 memory, My bad, my router took a dive off the deep end and just got back on but I meant 4.2, just not 4.35.

    Edit; I should note I got 19 minutes and change on the first run so I did it again just to be sure.

    Gooseberry.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2018
    jaybee83, ajc9988 and hmscott like this.
  8. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,150
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    6,576
    Trophy Points:
    581
    Definitely beats my scores. How tight are your memory timings at 3200?
     
    hmscott likes this.
  9. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,315
    Messages:
    8,876
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Trophy Points:
    431
    16-18-18-18, the memory is supposedly 3467 but 3200 is 100% stable default some workers in P95 will stop eventually.
     
    ajc9988 and hmscott like this.
  10. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,315
    Messages:
    8,876
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Trophy Points:
    431
    It comes out better than 13% faster so at this ram depth my IPC seems much deeper. There is one thing to check though to be sure. This is integer performance in Passmark. If it is low it is Windows fault, I just recently had to get mine back, here is mine, again pay attention to the integer score, if it is low it needs to be fixed.

    Edit; When it is off it is like 33,000 only!

    PM4.jpg
     
    ajc9988 and hmscott like this.
Loading...

Share This Page