Ryzen vs i7 (Mainstream); Threadripper vs i9 (HEDT); X299 vs X399; Xeon vs Epyc

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by ajc9988, Jun 7, 2017.

  1. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,315
    Messages:
    8,876
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Enermax 360, got one even before I had the CPU. As far as TIM I just installed ThermalGrizzly. I had an LM install but it failed. The LM lost its bind ot both IHS and heat plate and when I pulled it apart it was just small beads. First time I have ever had LM fail.

    I think I will be ok with 400w for heat the VRM's may not bee too happy, they get pretty warm with just the 320 package wattage now.

    Edit; another point of fact. The original TR was released with all those AIO adapter rings. So there are quite a few of them out there with AIO's that do not cover the entire IHS. Since AMD has to make this a drop in replacement for TR1 they have to keep the TDP down.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2018
    ajc9988 likes this.
  2. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,315
    Messages:
    8,876
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Trophy Points:
    431
    My daughter turned on the air in the house, ambient 72f. Same 15 minute run of P95

    320wTR71f.jpg
     
    ajc9988 likes this.
  3. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,150
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    6,576
    Trophy Points:
    581
    OK, so how did you change your VID because even though I am running way lower CPU VDD, my VID is almost 200mV higher, which is why my CPU package is pulling almost 100W higher than yours.
    upload_2018-6-10_13-40-5.png
     
  4. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,315
    Messages:
    8,876
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Your vcore is apparently 1.550, where as mine is at 1.375. This for 4.0 GHz here. As mentioned I did not win the silicon lottery, it seems you did win though as even though your package is at 392w your temps are way cooler.

    I have to ask what cooler for the CPU and VRM's?
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2018
  5. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,150
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    6,576
    Trophy Points:
    581
    Nope, VCore was 1.175. I just checked by going default and using Ryzenmaster to set the VCore. It changed the VID reported in software, but the VCore reported in the software was the same (they have the VCore generally reported elsewhere). Temps were exactly the same (Within 1C and the ambient was different by around 1F, so practically the same). When using HWInfo64 (my preferred), it shows the current as lower as well (in the 200s), while the package current is about the same because of using the VID to calculate the current rather than the Vcore. Now that I have that settled, unless it is reporting some other voltage, it is a software error of some sort.
     
  6. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,315
    Messages:
    8,876
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Trophy Points:
    431
    My VDD node 1 and beyond mirror my Bios vcore. Is the hmonitor shot after 15 minutes of P95 also, I thought it was and your VRM is super cool is why I ask.

    My VDD and VID mirror one another that is.
     
  7. ajc9988

    ajc9988 Death by a thousand paper cuts

    Reputations:
    1,150
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    6,576
    Trophy Points:
    581
    I'll run gooseberry with both hwinfo and hwmonitor tomorrow in both configurations and show you. Also, VDD node 0 is your SOC voltage.

    Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
     
  8. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,315
    Messages:
    8,876
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Trophy Points:
    431
    I can see your two values are different, mine are not. I am not sure what does this but it is this way right from bios default settings.
     
  9. jaybee83

    jaybee83 Biotech-Doc

    Reputations:
    3,027
    Messages:
    10,404
    Likes Received:
    7,264
    Trophy Points:
    931
    320W package!!! lolz love it :D so we can expect like 450W from.TR2 when overclocked? haha ;)

    over here i can barely screech by and avoid thermal throttling by a hair when running p95 avx at 120W+ on the cpu package... which of course is not too shabby for a 15 inch laptop i guess

    Sent from my Xiaomi Mi Max 2 (Oxygen) using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2018
  10. TANWare

    TANWare Just This Side of Senile, I think. Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    2,315
    Messages:
    8,876
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Assuming we have the VRM's and cooling solution I could see someone taking a TR2 up to 600 Watts on the package if it overclocks as well as the 2700x.

    The math for CBR15 as 3500 @4.GHz TR1 would be 3500*(4/4.35)*2 or 7613. :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2018
    hmscott, jaybee83 and ajc9988 like this.
Loading...

Share This Page