rPGA 989 socket best compatible processor upgrade?

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by db1210, Nov 18, 2020.

Tags:
  1. db1210

db1210 Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hi, I am a newbie and first-time poster here. I hope this note finds you well.

I had (still have) a Toshiba Satellite C655D-S5134 laptop with a fixed, non-removable AMD E-240 (very slow) budget processor. Because the processor was non-removable, I looked at eBay listings and bought for upgrading purposes a used, socketed, Intel rPGA 989 motherboard, PN: 1310A2423502, V000225140. It has two slots for DDR3 notebook RAM, and included with this motherboard was a SR07V, Intel Pentium B960, 2.20GHz CPU.

I do not know the chipset of the new motherboard; I only have pictures of the socket and the sticker part numbers listed above that can be seen here:

Picture of new motherboard: https://ibb.co/5r0SKrq
    Picture of B960 included processor looking to upgrade: https://ibb.co/s6bDJWB

I also have not attempted to install the new socketed Intel rPGA 989 motherboard in the laptop yet and sort out boot/compatibility issues. Perhaps there is a way to know the chipset from the motherboard part number, or from looking visually at the board? I am unfamiliar with chipsets, but I understand they factor into processor compatibility.

So my CPU upgrade question is as follows: what is the best (fastest, good quality) compatible processor I can buy that would work with my new motherboard, assuming a successful install and replacement of the old AMD E-240 motherboard?

My research pointed to--and I am looking to buy--an Intel Core i7-2860QM CPU with 4 Cores 2.5-3.6GHz 8M, SR02X. Even though this looks like it would physically fit in the rPGA 989 socket, and blow away the included Pentium B960 CPU in terms of performance, would the Intel Core i7-2860QM be compatible with the rest of the motherboard? Or would you recommend another processor instead?