Ribbon cable replacement and clip lock for Alienware 18

Discussion in 'Alienware' started by Biotic, Feb 28, 2019.

1. Biotic

Biotic Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    As the title says: I need replacement for those as shown in the pics and I have no clue where to get them from, any help would be highly appreciated! Included a pic of where the clip and the cable go as well, it's right next to the blu ray/hdd bay.

P.S: This is my first time posting here, if I submitted my post in the wrong place please let me know and i'll repost wherever it should be done, thanks!!

http://prntscr.com/mrfo1d

http://prntscr.com/mrfo8e

https://prnt.sc/mrfoib
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. Rengsey R. H. Jr.

Rengsey R. H. Jr. I Never Slept

Reputations:
    is it M18X R2 oe Alienware 18 ?

3. Biotic

Reputations:
    it's a 18 2014 model!

4. TheReciever

TheReciever D! For Dragon!

Reputations:
    Maybe just buy a dead motherboard?

5. AstralBuoy

AstralBuoy Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    I have the same problem.
    I replace the clips vvith strips of firm plastic liie the blue pull tags on the cables to press the cable in place in same ay as the clips do.
    and hen the ends get bad and broen you can use sandpaper and glass paper to sand avvaty the plastic on one side at each end and then mae a clean straight cut avvay the bad ends .
    its fiddly and tricy.
    the tracvvays on the cable must match up to the pins in the main board connectors and be seated firmly . it taes some practice try not to cut aay too much.
    I need to do mine again as i noticed the cable is damaged further dovn not just at the ends and that is hy i am missing too letters from my eyboard so sorry about that i no its hard to read.
    I have same model too btvv

do you happen to novv vhat is the magic number for our alienare 18 laptops to put into the nvidia driver inf files for modding a graphics driver ?

from elsehere : An M18xR1 would be 048F