Reset to fresh OS install? -vista ultimate

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by s4iscool, Oct 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s4iscool

    s4iscool Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    15
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Im selling my T61 that has a clean Vista Ultimate install on it. Is there a way to revert back to that clean install or do I have to redo everything? I know on dells you can revert back to the factory OS install (including all the bloat etc)
     
  2. LaptopGuru

    LaptopGuru Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    40
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Use rescue and recovery. Works great. I gave my old T43 to my in-laws and reset it back to the factory XP install.
     
  3. s4iscool

    s4iscool Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    15
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    did i haev to have that application on the machine from the start of the new OS install? I dont have that ibm utility installed
     
  4. vespoli

    vespoli 402 NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    1,134
    Messages:
    3,401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    If you "clean installed" over the factory image, and messed with the partitions, no there's not gonna be any way to restore to the factory image. You'll have to use your disk to reinstall and put the Lenovo tools/utilities/drivers on yourself.
     
  5. LaptopGuru

    LaptopGuru Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    40
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Right, what vespoli said. There's a hidden partition with the factory image. If you blew this away before burning recovery CDs, you will need to order recovery cds from lenovo.
     
  6. s4iscool

    s4iscool Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    15
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i believe I still have the hidden partition, how do I access this on a T61?
     
  7. OldTimer

    OldTimer Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    You press the ThinkVantage key at beginning of bootup, it will bring up the option to restore to the original configuration.
     
  8. LaptopGuru

    LaptopGuru Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    40
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    If you have the ThinkVantage Rescue and Recovery installed still, there should be a button that says something like "Burn Recovery Media"... that's the other alternative.
     

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page