[Request] Increase RAM for Compal HEL80

Discussion in 'Compal' started by maiconers, Jan 8, 2017.

  1. maiconers

    maiconers Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi,

    I have a laptop with Compal HEL80 motherboard with Intel dual core chipset (Bios 123B of 24/08/2007) with Windows 10 Pro 64bit.

    I recently increasing RAM bringing it to 4GB (previously installed 3GB). The system recognizes installed 4GB but I can use only 3GB (even the bios "counts" 3072 MB) [​IMG] . How can I use all 4 GB installed? Can I do this by unlocking hidden options from bios?

    Thank you,

    Michael
     
  2. katalin_2003

    katalin_2003 NBR Spectre Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    9,590
    Messages:
    5,657
    Likes Received:
    362
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Hello @maiconers, unfortunately this laptop's chipset is limited to around 3Gb or so.
    I'm afraid there's nothing you can do to make it use all 4Gb..
     
  3. maiconers

    maiconers Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Ok, I see .. There is also a drastic way (like overclocking) to be able to recognize the 4GB? o_O
    If needed I can post more specific info of my laptop..
     
  4. katalin_2003

    katalin_2003 NBR Spectre Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    9,590
    Messages:
    5,657
    Likes Received:
    362
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Hello @maiconers.

    What do you mean? Overclocking anything won't change the amount of RAM this chipset handles.
     
  5. maiconers

    maiconers Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello Katalin,

    sorry, I'm not very experienced ... the way would be to physically replace the motherboard chipset?
     
  6. saturnotaku

    saturnotaku Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,946
    Messages:
    5,835
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Trophy Points:
    331
    The best thing would be to replace your entire computer. There are machines available for US$200 or less that will run circles around the one you presently have.
     
  7. maiconers

    maiconers Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello Saturnotaku,

    it surely would be the best solution, but I was not going to spend money ... at this point, you can intervene by modding the bios? Only for speed up the PC by acting on the type frequency parameters etc ..


    I sending the bios files if someone can modding..

    Thank you

    Michael
     
  8. ThatOldGuy

    ThatOldGuy Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    307
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Would be a waste of time to mod your bios. Your PC will not get any faster with by adding more ram or overclocking it. It is past its useful life for modern Windows tasks. Windows 10 64 is not good for it at all. Best thing you could do is roll back to widows 7 64. you will see dramatic improvement in performance by doing this.
     
  9. Dr.Colossos

    Dr.Colossos Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    53
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    The best upgrade you can get is a decent SSD. That one you could also reuse once you decide to get a new laptop.
     
  10. saturnotaku

    saturnotaku Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,946
    Messages:
    5,835
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Trophy Points:
    331
    If you're going to spend $100 on a SSD, you may as well spend another $100-200 and get a whole new system. A ThinkPad 11 with a quad-core Celeron, 8 GB of RAM, a 128 GB SSD, and Windows 10 Pro is around $350.
     
    katalin_2003 likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page