Replacement Home Office/Gaming Laptop for 6-year-old Sager

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by soNGS, May 5, 2021.

1. soNGS

soNGS Newbie

Reputations:
    Hi everyone,

I'm looking for a replacement for my Sager P65_P67SE, which this community helped me find many years ago. It served me well but it is approaching end of life now and I need a good replacement that will do basically the same things I used it for, but with improvements in a couple of areas.

What I liked about the Sager:
    • Clean Windows install
    • Great port selection (2 external displays is a must have for me)
    • Powerful enough to handle anything I threw at it
    • Great screen (IMO, I'm not an expert)
    • Trackpad with discrete left and right click buttons
    • Numpad
    What I did not like:
    • Battery life is miserable for general use (topping out at 2 hours typically)
    • Screen flex got to be a problem, eventually cracking the bezel. I suspect this was because of the hinge design and placement, which put a lot of stress on the bottom of the bezel and hinges
    • Sound output is poor (both the internal speakers and power for driving headphones)
    Thank you all for any help. Standard questions below.

General Questions

1) What is your budget?
    ~$1500

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    d. Mainstream; 15" - 16" screen

3) Which country will you buying this notebook?
    USA

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like:
    b. Dislike: Anything loaded with bloatware
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?
    Yes

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?
    Remote office work using 2 external monitors, light gaming, media consumption

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?
    Both

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? (If so, please state which games or types of games?)