1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Reducing Windows 7 installation size for use on small SSD

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by Tinderbox (UK), Sep 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tinderbox (UK)

    Tinderbox (UK) Sir Pumpkin Longshanks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,213
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    England
    Windows 7 take around 14gb of space after the updates have been done, I know you can disable hibernation and turn off system restore and a few other things.

    But what about removing the parts of Windows 7 that you do not use, I have heard that you can reduce the 14gb to 7gb or even 1.2gb using an couple application`s called rt_7_lite or vLite

    I will be using my own valid Windows 7 Home Premium key, and any posts discussing pirating will be reported to the mod`s, I also cleared this topic with an mod, before posting this thread.

    Also does Windows 7 x64 , take up a lot more space than x86 , if you have 3gb of memory is it worth sticking with x86

    I am currently messing about with rt_7_lite , but i dont know what to remove, has anybody made an lite version of windows before.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Krane

    Krane Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Location:
    Florida
    Of all things to adjust to save space, why on earth would you want to go monkeying with your OS? I vote you leave your OS in tact and if you want to save space, delete/leave out other unnecessary programs.
     
  3. Tinderbox (UK)

    Tinderbox (UK) Sir Pumpkin Longshanks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,213
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    England
    I don't see why i should not try and reduce my os size, I never store any thing important on my os drive anyway, it`s all on external hdd`s

    If the os is unstable or i change my mind i can just restore my full windows from a backup in a few minutes.

    I would just install XP if it supported trim.

    It`s fun to try new things, but some help is always appreciated. :)
     
  4. no1uknow

    no1uknow Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Reducing the Windows installation size used to be somewhat easy with nLite and vLite, but I don't think anything for Win7 exists. The creator of those 2 now works for microsoft.

    On Win95, 98, NT 4.0, ME theres a Custom install option to choose which components you want or don't want. They had since dropped that as of Win2000 and they need to bring that back.
     
  5. metril

    metril Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    It is possible to remove parts of Windows 7 to bring the size down. I remember doing this a month after Windows 7 officially released. Problem was that a lot of the components are tightly knit together. Removing something, like IE, broke Windows Update. Removing WMP broke WMC and the builtin codecs.

    It's not worth it to go through the trouble of trying to trim Windows 7. I suggest you go with Windows 7 Home Starter since that is meant for netbooks and such.
     
  6. no1uknow

    no1uknow Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Oh yeah and YES stick with the 32-bit Windows 7 as 64-bit takes up more space and all 64-bit applications take up more space than their 32-bit counterparts. If you have 3 gb of ram, 64-bit wont do you much good.
     
  7. Tinderbox (UK)

    Tinderbox (UK) Sir Pumpkin Longshanks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,213
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    England
    Is it true that Windows 7 Home Starter can only use up to 2gb of memory?
     
  8. sgogeta4

    sgogeta4 Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    10,541
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    456
    Location:
    MA, USA
    You can use RTSe7enLite as the OP suggested:

    Welcome to RT Se7en Lite - Slipstream Service Pack,Integrate Updates,Integrate Drivers,Integrate LP,Remove Components,Enable or Disable features,Unattended Setup,Apply Tweaks,Add Icons,Wallpapers,Themes,Bootable USB or DVD

    Yes:

    Memory Limits for Windows Releases (Windows)

    I've looked into this and spent hours researching what each item that was checked off already did. You could also integrate all the hotfixes by downloading them directly from MS website (not sure if there is a more efficient way but I looked up from my Win7 and checked all the KB fixes and matched it to their database). You can easily shrink your Win7. After everything (Win7 64-bit Ultimate) and with all my programs, I've managed to consume less than 10GB. I've put up a list of programs and stuff I have installed on my computer here:

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/acer/506125-6920g-win-7-clean-install-log.html
     
  9. no1uknow

    no1uknow Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Oh wow I did not know that a Se7en Lite existed, ive never heard it being mentioned before. I gotta check it out.
     
  10. Les

    Les Not associated with NotebookReview in any way

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You can reduce your size of your OS to around 8.5Gb with a little creativity.
     
  11. Krane

    Krane Notebook Prophet

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Location:
    Florida
    Why? Even a 64 GB SSD would more than suffice for W7 and a couple other essential programs. As it is, most of us have got GB to spare so OS size is really not an issue these days.
     
  12. SL2

    SL2 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    41
    The biggest gain with removing components is that it will reduce the size.
    The number of processes will drop to 26 processes (32-bit), and RAM maybe 270 GB (32-bit), but that doesn't make much difference on anything like Core Duo/Athlon X2 or newer.
    There are a few files that takes up a lot of space, some of them are Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Natural language, Tablet, Help, Speech, Windows media center.

    Windows 7 Professional uses about -

    32 bit, original: 7.5 GB
    32 bit, vlite: 4.5 GB
    32 bit, vlite & no sxs: 2.5 GB

    64 bit, original: 10.5 GB
    64 bit, vlite: 7.0 GB
    64 bit, vlite & no sxs: 4.0 GB

    This is excluding pagefile and hiberfile, and not exact sizes.

    no sxs means that winsxs will be reduced to about 200 MB, look here.
    Only recommended for skilled vlite/imagex/gimagex users.

    Vlite means using my preset file, which is considered safe for Windows 7 (yeah the member is banned, but I KNOW it's not because of this post).
    I've been using this install daily since april on my only computer with no problems whatsoever.
    If you know the basics of vlite, you should be able to do it.

    Here's how my Windows 7 is configured in the vlite preset file, based on the link above. It should work with all versions of W7.
    This is not an extreme removal, it's when you go under 2 GB (32-bit, no sxs) you might be missing some features.
    I think most of you would agree that you can live without the listed parts, except for a few Network and System features, and of course your languages.
    But none of those takes up much space anyway, unless you need Chinese/Japanese/Korean/Speech.

    -USE AT YOUR OWN RISK-
    1 -Open notepad, paste this code, save as C:\Program Files\vLite\presets\Last Session.ini.
    2 - Load it in vlite and have a look what [COMPONENTS] you want to keep = uncheck (specifically languages),
    but don't remove anything else than what's already selected in my preset file or you might run into some serious trouble.
    3 - Keep going through the steps in vlite and make an iso at the end.
    4 - Copy the ISO to USB drive using Unetbootin, no reason to use a DVD.
    5 - Feel free to give me rep.;)


    Code:
    ; vLite preset file
    ;
    ;#Environment:
    ; vLite v1.2
    ; Framework 2.0.50727.4927
    ; Microsoft Windows NT 6.1.7600.0 32-bit
    ;
    ;#Target:
    ; Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL 64-bit 
    ; Version 6.1 Swedish (Sweden)
    ;
    [Compatibility]
    
    [CustomHide]
    
    [Components]
    ;# Accessories #
    Accessibility
    Character Map
    Disk Cleanup
    Games-Inbox Games
    Games-Premium Inbox Games
    Mobility Center
    Speech Support
    System Information
    Welcome Center
    Windows Sidebar and Gadgets
    Wordpad
    ;# Languages #
    Arabic
    Brazillian
    Bulgarian
    Croatian
    Czech
    Danish
    Dutch
    Estonian
    Finnish
    French
    German
    Greek
    Hebrew
    Hungarian
    Italian
    Japanese
    Korean
    Latvian
    Lithuanian
    Norwegian
    Polish
    Portuguese
    Romanian
    Russian
    Serbian
    Simplified Chinese
    Slovak
    Slovenian
    Spanish
    Table Driven Text Input Processor
    Thai
    Traditional Chinese
    Turkish
    Ukrainian
    ;# Multimedia #
    Media Center
    Music and Video samples
    Sample Pictures
    Screensavers
    Shell event sounds
    SideShow
    Windows Media Codecs
    Windows Media Player
    ;# Network #
    Connect to a Network Projector
    Distributed File System (DFS)
    Internet Information Services (IIS)
    RIP Listener
    Simple TCPIP services
    Telnet Client
    Telnet Server
    TFTP Client
    Windows Collaboration
    Windows Mail
    ;# Services #
    Quality Windows Audio Video Experience
    Remote Registry
    WebDAV (WebClient)
    ;# System #
    BitLocker Drive Encryption
    Digital Rights Management (DRM)
    Disk Quota
    Help
    IMAPIv2 Burning Support
    Microsoft Client For NFS
    Microsoft Message Queue (MSMQ)
    Natural Language
    Parental Controls
    Run a legacy CPL elevated
    Security Center
    Subsystem for UNIX-based Applications (SUA)
    Tablet PC
    Windows Defender
    Windows SAT (Performance Index)
    Zip Folder
    
    [Options]
    DEP (Data Execution Prevention) = Enabled only for OS components (Optin)
    User Account Control (UAC) = Disabled
    AntiSpyware Realtime Protection = Default
    AutoPlay = Enabled
    Paging Executive = Enabled
    Power scheme = Power saving
    Power button = Shutdown
    Sleep button = Do nothing
    Control Panel - Classic View = Enabled
    Show hidden files and folders = Yes
    Show protected operating system files = Yes
    Show extensions for known file types = Yes
    IE Phishing Filter = Disabled
    IE Phishing Verification Ballon Tips = Disabled
    
    [Services]
    AELOOKUPSVC = Automatic (Delayed Start)
    AUDIOENDPOINTBUILDER = Automatic
    AUDIOSRV = Automatic
    BROWSER = Manual
    CRYPTSVC = Automatic (Delayed Start)
    DPS = Automatic (Delayed Start)
    EVENTSYSTEM = Automatic (Delayed Start)
    IKEEXT = Manual
    KTMRM = Manual
    LANMANSERVER = Automatic (Delayed Start)
    MPSSVC = Manual
    MSDTC = Manual
    NLASVC = Automatic (Delayed Start)
    NSI = Automatic (Delayed Start)
    POLICYAGENT = Manual
    SECLOGON = Automatic (Delayed Start)
    SPOOLER = Manual
    TERMSERVICE = Manual
    THEMES = Automatic
    WINMGMT = Automatic (Delayed Start)
    WPDBUSENUM = Manual
    WUAUSERV = Manual
    
    [Protection]
    windows\system32\browcli.dll
    windows\sysWow64\browcli.dll
    windows\system32\Magnification.dll
    windows\system32\msdrm.dll
    windows\system32\msoert2.dll
    windows\system32\SystemPropertiesRemote.exe
    windows\system32\tbs.dll
    windows\system32\wer.dll
    windows\system32\werconcpl.dll
    windows\system32\wercplsupport.dll
    windows\system32\werdiagcontroller.dll
    windows\system32\winipsec.dll
    windows\system32\wmdrmsdk.dll
    windows\SysWow64\wmdrmsdk.dll
    
    [Drivers]
    
    [Unattended]
    SpecRegional
    AcceptEULA
    SkipAutoActivation
    
    [Hotfixes]
    
    [LanguagePacks]
     
  13. Tinderbox (UK)

    Tinderbox (UK) Sir Pumpkin Longshanks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,213
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    England
    Looks great, but i only have Windows 7 Home Premium , and since i only have 3gb of memory , I will be using the x86 version.

    Can your vLite preset file be changed to reflect this, is it just a matter of changing the setting in vLite once the presets are loaded?
     
  14. SL2

    SL2 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I made the preset file for 32-bit first, and then used it for 64-bit later on, vlite changes the first lines by itself if you use it for a different version, ";" means they have no function for the program.
    I've used with 32-bit Home Premium as well when I reinstalled a friends laptop.

    Only warning I have is that you may or may not have a hard time installing future Service Packs, but that remains to be seen.
     
  15. Tinderbox (UK)

    Tinderbox (UK) Sir Pumpkin Longshanks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,213
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    England
    I just installed vLite , but on install if says it needs "wim api" and it links to an Microsoft download that is 1.4gb download :(
     
  16. SL2

    SL2 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Download vlite 1.1, extract it or intstall it, and copy the additional files to 1.2.
    That's what I did, and those are the only files you need.;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page