Recommend lightweight, 13/14" for browsing, light video editing

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by efra1223, Aug 28, 2021.

1. efra1223

efra1223 Newbie

Reputations:
    Hey folks! I'm a travel nomad, weight and performance are a bit of a thing. My partner has a MacBook Air M1 and Im looking into replacing my old Dell Inspiron. I do a bit of light editing on travel videos every now and then, nothing too crazy since I'm a total noob and we watch movies whenever we don't have a tv to plug into. A small screen is fine but a good small screen is even better! Touchscreen is a must!

I've narrowed things down between these 3 models and below is the form recommended by the forum:

HP Spectre x360 Convertible Laptop - 13t-aw200 touch
    Seems like the OLED screen would be a nice to have but just bummed I can't get 32gb ram instead of 16.
    Ram is soldered so I can't upgrade.
    ThinkPad X1 Carbon Gen 9 (14", Intel) Laptop
    The one 32gb ram configuration doesn't give me the option of getting a touchscreen display but I guess Im willing to sacrifice that for the right laptop and just have 16gb ram with touchscreen.
    Ram is soldered so I can't upgrade.

Dell XPS 13 or Inspiron, current year model.
    Both seem like good options. The new XPS 13 with 32gb and 11th gen intel looks like another good choice.

Anything that I can upgrade on my own be it RAM or SSD to save some money, would also work. Im not really sure I need 32gb ram but who knows if I will, 3 years from now. Im expecting this purchase to last at least 3/4 years.

General Questions

1) What is your budget?
    $2400 ish, it'd be great to go lower but Id rather future proof this purchase as much as I can.

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    c. Thin and Light; 13" - 14" screen
    3) Which country will you buying this notebook?
    USA, I'm currently in New Zealand but well forward ship it to NZ from the states.