Razer BIOS Mods - Potential to Unlock All Hidden Options

Discussion in 'Razer' started by stranula, Nov 10, 2019.

  1. No0B

    No0B Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    41
    That's perfectly understandable, given your machine is only a few weeks old and a bricked BIOS would cost you some money to RMA.

    You're in luck that this is a laptop. It has two power sources, so if one fails, the other can keep going. Given your reassembled BIOS ROM isn't botched, is precisely 8 Mebibytes in size (8.388.608 Bytes as reported by Windows), and is verified successfully by AfuWin, you shouldn't face any problems. Make sure to exit XTU and other apps that may modify the BIOS at runtime and also close their services and background processes, since they theoretically could reserve writing rights to the BIOS chip while you're about to flash. Not very likely, but technically a possibility. Also make sure the machine receives power via the power adapter because, while flashing, power saving features are disabled and you'd generally want to rule out the battery as a factor for stability reasons while the flashing process is going. The rest is explained in great detail in @stranula's guide.
     
    tiliarou likes this.
  2. ViperGeek

    ViperGeek Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks to my newfound confidence after reading @No0B's reply, I flashed my updated menu .rom file, and successfully uncovered the OC Performance and Processor voltage menus:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Unfortunately, it looks like I only managed to uncover/modify the CPU Cache offset, and not the CPU Core offset:

    [​IMG]

    Does anyone know where I may have gone wrong?

    Both Intel XTU and ThrottleStop services are disabled (although still installed) and so shouldn't be messing with my settings.

    - Dave
     
    tiliarou likes this.
  3. stranula

    stranula Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    40
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I am just seeing these posts from the last few days. I'm glad that No0b was able to help you out. I am looking into your question about core vs cache offsets now.

    *UPDATE*
    I looked into it and my RB15 acts the same way. I couldn't find any way around it
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2020
    ViperGeek likes this.
  4. ViperGeek

    ViperGeek Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for researching this idiosyncrasy for me. Guess I'll stick to ThrottleStop run early in the boot sequence for now.

    If anyone's conquered this issue, please let me know.

    - Dave


    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
     
  5. amihail91

    amihail91 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    14
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    31
    @stranula any ideas what this new setting is under Memory Overclocking? It says its only available in 1T mode but I'm not sure what pushing it up would achieve/potentially break.

    upload_2020-2-15_17-33-27.png
     
  6. stranula

    stranula Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    40
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    41
    As far as I am aware 1T is the better setting to have
     
  7. No0B

    No0B Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    41
    @amihail91, to keep the memory stable at higher clock speeds and/or tighter timings, you can adjust the command rate to set how many times the CPU's memory controller will send the same command to the RAM to lower the chance of the data being corrupt when written to RAM. So a 1T command rate is preferrable for speed (although high clock speeds with tighter timings can outweigh the speed penalty of a command rate higher than 1), but it's not as stable, depending on your other settings.
     
    amihail91 likes this.
  8. amihail91

    amihail91 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    14
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Is there any point at all messing with this setting? Is lower than 3 CMDs recommended?
     
  9. No0B

    No0B Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    8
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Not really. The amount of performance isn't worth the testing involved. Be aware that Razer didn't implement a good CMOS recovery method in the new machines. At least nothing that we know of. You'll need to pull the CMOS battery if the system goes haywire to a point where it can't boot into Windows.
    As @stranula wrote, yes. 1T would be optimal, since then the memory controller would only wait for a single clock cycle before assuming that the data given to the RAM is valid. But your memory overclock (if you changed the clock speed or the timings) maybe won't hold. The factory RAM in my 2018 Blade 15 (two 8GB Samsung M471A1K43CB1-CTD - they're pretty bad as far as RAM goes) can hold 2800MHz with main timings being 18-18-18-40 (CL, RCD, RP and RAS respectively) and an RFC of 440 with 1T command rate at 1.35v. My specific sticks seem to not be very good. Raising the voltage does not improve anything in my case.

    For stability, I'd usually choose a command rate of 2T, just to be absolutely sure. For example for friends' or family systems where I know they'll never bother with stuff like that.
     
    amihail91 likes this.
  10. amihail91

    amihail91 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    14
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Appreciate the in-depth reply!

    Here's what I was able to get on the RB17 Pro 2019, it's been stable for a good few weeks now.

    upload_2020-2-29_20-18-17.png
     
Loading...

Share This Page