RAM and SSD compatibility list AERO 15X V8 (2018)

Discussion in 'Gigabyte and Aorus' started by JC1987, Mar 24, 2019.

  1. JC1987

    JC1987 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    So I wanted to start a new thread that clearly states which devices work or don't work. There is an official list from Gigabyte but I can hardly believe those are the only ones working. The official list is available here:

    http://manage.faq.gigabyte.com/FileUpload/FAQ/global/3836/Aero 15 (i7-8750H) Aero 15X (i7-8750H)_HDD&RAM_ENGre3.pdf

    My updated list:
    2019-04-02 18_12_01-Aero 15x V8 RAM & SSD compatibility - Google Sheets.png

    Crucial also has a compatibility list for the AERO 15X V8 (same link as in my sceenshot):

    https://eu.crucial.com/eur/en/compatible-upgrade-for/GIGABYTE/aero-15x-(i7-8750h)#SSDFilters

    My PDF is linked in the bottom in case you want to copy the product numbers.


    So if you have installed other memory modules or SSDs yourself please comment in this thread and say which exact types are working or not working so I can update the list for everyone's reference.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 2, 2019
  2. ChrisTimm

    ChrisTimm Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi there,

    good idea. I installed this 16 GB Kit in my Aero 15x v8 and it works flawlessly:

    HX426S15IB2K2/16

    I'll provide a link as soon as I am on my laptop again.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2019
  3. drieschel

    drieschel Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    182
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Check the appended screenshot. The 970 EVO Plus 1TB is working fine in my 15x v8. You can also see which RAM modules work together without any problems in this machine.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. JC1987

    JC1987 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks Dries for your reply. Did you only upgrade the empty slot? So if you are using two different RAM modules, how does the 15X cope with that?
     
  5. Support.2@XOTIC PC

    Support.2@XOTIC PC Company Representative

    Reputations:
    484
    Messages:
    3,148
    Likes Received:
    3,489
    Trophy Points:
    331
    I'm also curious how well they work together, despite being of near equal speed and performance. It's often best to have the same memory to avoid conflicts, but knowing that sometimes different brands can work together and test fine is excellent to see.
     
  6. drieschel

    drieschel Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    182
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    @JC1987, @Support.2@XOTIC PC

    You can see it on the attached screenshot in my last post.

    PS: They are working perfect together. Never had a BSOD or crash yet. Bought it at the 25th of February this year.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2019
  7. Support.2@XOTIC PC

    Support.2@XOTIC PC Company Representative

    Reputations:
    484
    Messages:
    3,148
    Likes Received:
    3,489
    Trophy Points:
    331
    A month without conflicts is great, then. Thanks for that, Drieschel.
     
  8. JC1987

    JC1987 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thread updated!
     
  9. jrmtz85

    jrmtz85 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    23
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    31
    This is incredibly interesting. I wonder if the random BSODs I get are a result of using "non-supported hardware".

    I have 2x16GB of Corsairs running at 2666 which I got from HID which have passed multiple full memtests. I also added a 1TB WD black (2018) model.

    Everything seems to be working fine, and is for about 2-3 weeks. Then random BSOD out of nowhere with random causes: memory corruption, structure something, etc...

    Wish I could test this without have the massive cost of getting another NVME SSD, as well ass 32GB of RAM....
     
  10. thisisscotts

    thisisscotts Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have successfully installed:
    1) RAM: Kingston KVR26S19D8/16 alongside the stick that came with the laptop (CBD26D4S9D8ME-16)
    2) SSD: Intel 660p 2TB

    Still testing but so far so good. See more in my original write up in this thread.
     
Loading...

Share This Page