R61 is so slow......?

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by faisalsiddiqui, Mar 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. faisalsiddiqui

faisalsiddiqui Notebook Guru

Reputations:
    I just recently got my R61 and i have the following configuration.

14"
    T9300
    3GB RAM
    160 GB 7200RPM HDD
    nVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M
    Vista Home Premium

After having gone through a thousand threads and seeking advice number of times, i had finally settled on this configuration. To my mind this was going to be a blazing fast PC as i already own a HP presario laptop which comes with T2350 & 2GB memory and it works pretty fast, so i was petty sure that the configuration on R61 is going to be as fast as anything. However, to my sheer disappointment, my R61 runs so slow that i feel like crying.

I then went through some more threads and decided on doing a clean install but to make it less of a hassle i used the Base Software Administration ( I am a student and am having my Mid-Term exams from next week and can't waste too much time on this). I tried to install as less software as possible from the options that were presented to me during recovery. However, still my computer is super SLOW.

I need some help here, I have tried to remove programs from startup as well (only those i was sure I should remove, but i still have some programs running, of which i am not sure i should remove or not?) I have defragmented my hard disc using jkdefrag, I have used a professional cleaner to clear of all temporary files if any (Windows Washer from webroot), I have also used a registry cleaner (Registry Mechanic) and I don't know what else to do.