1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Quck Restore system restore

Discussion in 'Dell' started by Th3xTruth, Jan 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    my dell is all messed up i have dell 6000

    i want to do a restore of the full system like and get it to the date i first bought it ..is this possible or what is the best thing i can do...

    besides..the dell one they give me which is poor..
     
  2. leeer73

    leeer73 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I just did this on my 9300. Reboot your pc, at the "dell" screen, when the system first starts to boot up, hit Ctrl+f11 a few times. That will send you to a page that allows you to restore to the factory specs. Waring!! You will lose all of your crap!! and this installs the dell system the way it was when you originally received it including all of the bloatware! Good luck!
     
  3. bmwrob

    bmwrob Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    4,591
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Just a suggestion - before restoring to the original state, you might want to read the following, into which went quite a lot of effort:

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=23363
     
  4. JonNuttNTL

    JonNuttNTL Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
  5. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15

    im tryin to do this but im gettin nothing..hit at the same time or hold it ..or what...
     
  6. Amber

    Amber Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    1,659
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    at the dell screen, you hit them at the same time. If you've reformatted or messed with the partitions in any way, the restore partition will not work.

    SG
     
  7. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    **** ive had to mess with it before..cuz it was messed up ..so now what am i left to do SG...:(
     
  8. Amber

    Amber Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    1,659
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    you'll have to do a clean install using the XP disk. If you don't have the XP disk from dell, you'll need to call them and request it.
     
  9. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    no no i do...
    so then do what they said up there and use that link for reinstallin XP and i should have it like new again..
     
  10. Amber

    Amber Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    1,659
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    yep. Just follow the guide and it should guide you through. If you don't clean installs before, then it is the same process. It is just the driver process that most users have problems with.

    Might as well delete the restore partition while you are at it, and gain the space back.
     
  11. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    thank you thank you..i will do so ..
     
  12. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    southern girl....help...if you could..

    i did the xp reinstall u offered im back online as u can see but one thing is wrong...my display is all messed up the lil icon in the right corner are blurry my fonts are off...and all that other stuff...like it isnt normal when i first bought my puter..do know what driver or diplay options im missing..is it a graphic card..anything u know could plz help me
     
  13. Amber

    Amber Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    1,659
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    You just need to install your video card driver. Unlike desktops where the monitor has a display driver, laptops use the video card driver instead. You should a huge change in improvement once you install it and reboot.
     
  14. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    hmmm im tryin to install the one video card but then when it trys to it says i dont have the right


    it says could not find the componets needed to installed on your current hardware or software configuration
    it says plz make syre ot have the right software or hardware needed

    im tryin to to install ATI software


    C:\Dell\Drivers\R106547\
     
  15. Amber

    Amber Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    1,659
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    what video card do you have? You'll get that error if you are installing a driver that doesn't match your hardware, meaning that your probably have the wrong driver.
     
  16. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    am i lookin at the right thing my video card right now is...Intel Graphics Video and im tryin to get ATI MobilityRadeon X300

    i think it says it is fore dell media center..so do i need to DL that cause right now i dont have it on my puter...ATI Mobility Radeon X300 Graphics Driver for Windows XP and Windows Media Center Edition.
     
  17. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    im tried to change my display and nothing makes it look like the way it used too
     
  18. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    maybe uninstall the card i have now and install the other one
     
  19. Th3xTruth

    Th3xTruth Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    and is there a differance from true color and high color...
     
  20. Amber

    Amber Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    1,659
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    if you have the Intel graphics video, then you need the Intel graphics, not ATI. In the device manager, is there any yellow question marks?
     
Similar Threads: Quck Restore
Forum Title Date
Dell Dell Restore Partition question Jun 25, 2010
Dell how do i Factory Restore my Dell Laptop? Apr 28, 2010
Dell Does Dell still ship Windows OS (not System Restore) DVDs with systems? Dec 18, 2009
Dell dell restore Feb 27, 2009
Dell Trying to REstore OLD Inspiron 1100..possible??? Oct 18, 2008

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page