1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Qualcomm HS-USB drivers for a CF-19 on windows 7

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by wagee, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. wagee

    wagee Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi all,

    I've just installed windows 7 on a CF-19 MK3 and all the peripherics are recognize by the system, but there is just the 3G modem which is not recognize.
    I've searched on internet any drivers but i've found nothing.

    Thanks for your Help :)
     
  2. Doobi

    Doobi ToughBook DeityInTraining

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Murrieta, California
    You're welcome. ;-p
     
  3. Alex

    Alex Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4,297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Canada
  4. db04p71

    db04p71 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Texas
  5. Pinecone

    Pinecone Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Qualcomm HS-USB is a Gobi 1000 modem.

    The above comments are correct if you are in the US; if you are in Europe/Canada or other "unlocked" places then you only need the Gobi drivers and not the CSA.
     
  6. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Odessa, Ukraine
    Maybe someone knows where to get those Gobi drivers? I'm trying to install HP un2420 (Gobi 2000) modem and have some problems here :)
    Almost every manufacturer has Gobi drivers, but not Panasonic. And drivers from HP, Acer, Sony and Lenovo do not install on CF-19.
    Panasonic's CSA tells there is no Gobi device found.
    Thanks!
     
  7. db04p71

    db04p71 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you have the dip switches set correctly? An HP modem may not work. In the US, the drivers are installed by the CSA. As you are in the Ukraine, the CSA is not for you. Windows 7 should install it's own Gobi drivers and then use your connection software

    Gobi 2000 may not work in a CF-19 Mk2, it was first available on the Mk3.

    CSA may not work with 64bit OS.

    Your switch chart may not include the UNDP1, just set it that way.

    Photo courtesy of Ohlip.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Odessa, Ukraine
    Thanks for your answer, I will try it.
    MK2 must work - I've seen GOBI specs :)
    It seems I need something like qdloader driver, but from Panasonic. Now I can install only HP qdloader, but that's all because HP software doesn't install on Panasonic :)
    Thanks anyway, I will try more.
     
  9. TopCop1988

    TopCop1988 Toughbook Aficionado

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    D/FW Texas
    Did you try using WinRAR with the HP file? :confused:
     
  10. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Odessa, Ukraine
    :))))
    Look, I can even install HP driver (qdloader), but Gobi 2000 has a strange system, where we have driver only for firmware loader hardware (not a modem device). And after that HP software has to load firmware and (I think so) drivers for modem and NMEA COM ports. Driver for HP qdloader install correctly, but I can't use that device.
     
  11. Pinecone

    Pinecone Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    As it is a CF-19 mk3, it is a Gobi 1000 modem you need the drivers for (not Gobi 2000).

    Or PM me your email address and I will email them over to you.
     
  12. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Evangelist

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Odessa, Ukraine
    mk2, HP UN2420 (Gobi 2000) added.
    Thanks, I will PM you right now :)
     
  13. db04p71

    db04p71 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, the Mk2 used Gobi 1000.
     
  14. Pinecone

    Pinecone Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    In which case there are differences between Europe and the US. In Europe:

    CF-19mk1 had Novatel EU740
    CF-19mk2 had Novatel EU870D
    CF-19mk3 had Qualcomm Gobi 1000
    CF-19mk4 will have Qualcomm Gobi 2000

    Barrmaley - I'll send you the drivers in the (European!) morning....am out at the mo.
     
  15. db04p71

    db04p71 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Texas
    In the US, the CF-19 Mk2 originally could be ordered with the EU860D for AT&T or the equivalent Sprint or Verizon card. Towards the end of the Mk2 run I believe the Gobi 1000 replaced those options. Panasonic also made available a field upgrade kit for the Mk2, 19GOBIFU, a Gobi 1000 card.
     
  16. Pinecone

    Pinecone Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    In Europe there are no field upgrade kits, you stick with what you've got. But then over here, we don't have CDMA or EDGE networks, everything is GPRS or 3G (UMTS/HSDPA), so there's not as much need for upgrading.

    Barrmaley - check your inbox :)
     
  17. toughbook.lt

    toughbook.lt Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi all,

    Could any body help me to get run gobi 2000 in CF19 mk3, i found this forum and like to get some help.

    Here is some pictures off swiches, and gobi.

    I have nothing detected in win xp, and in bios i got no new options i tryed all swiches.

    thanks for help.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Pinecone

    Pinecone Notebook Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Depending on the exact model, (especially if it is no-WWAN, rather then WWAN-ready), you might find that the BIOS is configured for no WWAN regardless of what card you put in.

    Which effectively locks out the 3G.
     
  19. toughbook.lt

    toughbook.lt Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    hi, i hope its ready ;)

    if this help here is mine model no cf-19KHRAXAE
    but if its not ready so its just the bios not allows ?
    could i get updated bios then ?

    thanks
     
  20. db04p71

    db04p71 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you have antenna cables attached to JK600 and JK601? Those are placeholders for the WWAN antenna cables when there is no WWAN card installed. The cables would be removed from those connectors and attached to an installed WWAN card. That's how the US models are. You may have a non-WWAN model.
     

Share This Page