1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Q's re: E1505/6000D and ATI Mobility Radeon

Discussion in 'Dell' started by matta2k, May 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. matta2k

    matta2k Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am setting up my parents' new Dell Inspiron E1505 notebook and I ran some tests to verify that Dell installed the correct ATI card.

    The card I ordered, and what shows on the packing slip, is an "128MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X1300 HyperMemory."

    I thought HyperMemory was half system memory and half onboard video memory. (In other words, the system is lessened to 448MB and the video caps at 64MB for a combined total of 128MB.) But, I get these results:

    ATI Mobility Radeon X1300 Properties: "Memory Size 256 MB"

    dxdiag.exe

    Inspiron E1505: "System Memory 510MB RAM"
    Inspiron E1505: "Ati Mobility Radeon X1300 Approx. Total Memory 256.0MB"

    Everest Home

    Inspiron E1505: "System Memory 512 MB (DDR2-533 DDR2 SRAM)"
    Inspiron E1505: "ATI Mobility Radeon X1300 (256 MB)"
    Inspiron E1505: "Video Memory Size 256 MB"


    Not only does that show full video memory for the system and the graphics card, but it says "256 MB."

    Meanwhile, my notebook is a year-old 6000D model. It has The X300 card. (Packing Slip: "128MB ATI Mobility Radeon X300 Video Card.") Tests on that read:

    ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300 Properties: "Memory Size 128 MB"

    dxdiag.exe

    Inspiron 6000: "System Memory 512MB RAM"
    Inspiron 6000: "ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300 Approx. Total Memory 128.0MB"

    Everest Home

    Inspiron 6000: "System Memory 512 MB (DDR2-400 DDR2 SDRAM)"
    Inspiron 6000: "ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300 (128 MB)"
    Inspiron 6000: "Video Memory Size 128 MB"


    It's almost as if my parents' E1505 with its 128MB HyperMemory card has twice the power as my 6000D's 128MB Non-HyperMemory card.

    Can someone explain this? Or, is there another program I can run that will give me more accurate results?
     
  2. ll350

    ll350 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I noticed the same thing today on my E1505, with a x1300. Did you make any progress on finding out what it going on?
     
  3. Mark

    Mark Desktop Debugger

    Reputations:
    1,288
    Messages:
    4,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is wierd, on one of the programs I use, it says I have 256 MB of memory on my ATI x300 graphics card, which it doesn't. IT baffles me too.:confused:
     
  4. ll350

    ll350 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using bios A03, that's what mine shipped with, is that what bios you all are using? I was thinking of downloading the new A04 bios, it says it has updates for the graphics cards. BTW anyboady having trouble with their firewire port?
     
Similar Threads: E1505/6000D Mobility
Forum Title Date
Dell Geoforce GT420M vs. ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5450 Oct 27, 2010
Dell Requesting link to official Dell 9.2 ATI mobility driver Apr 28, 2009
Dell Dell's Mobility SSD Apr 24, 2009
Dell DriverHeaven's nVidia Mobility Modder Tool released Aug 14, 2008
Dell Puma+3870 mobility Jun 17, 2008

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page