PSA: You can now overclock your laptop monitor [intel/intel+optimus]

Discussion in 'Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards)' started by margroloc, Mar 4, 2017.

  1. Rizma Jody Festiawan

    Rizma Jody Festiawan Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Whoa, thanks, guys.
    This works on my ASUS A451LB (or maybe called S451LB) Internal Display (eDP, AUO323C, 1366x768)
    I can overclock it to 90Hz without any glitch/frameskip/artifact (or even 98Hz but have some frameskipping).
    I can also overclock my LG-22MP58VQ to 75Hz without any problem I've mentioned before. Going further shows OUT OF RANGE
    Now I feel the smoothness of 90Hz on my laptop :D

    PS :
    1. Intel Driver used is the latest available driver for Haswell, 20.19.15.4624, dated 3/8/2017
    2. Do not try to overclock it above 90Hz on AUO323C or you'll get artifact (Yes, I have tried it, OCed to 120Hz or even 200Hz on lower resolution (It still can manage the Pixel Clock below 120Hz) but the result is screen artifact, fortunately I have an external monitor to reset the configuration)
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2017
    margroloc likes this.
  2. LeonardoMSP

    LeonardoMSP Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, yeah, that may be unfortunate for me. As for the CMN, however, I think it stands for the Chi Mei manufacturer. The dude who first posted in this thread apparently could do some good overclocking. Well thanks for answering tho. I've already spent a ton of time trying to do this. I was hoping to reach at least 75hz, which would make some nice difference. Imma do some other tryouts tho.


    Edit: could get CRU to work with the .4627 driver. Couldn't go nowhere past 60hz tho. Even 62 would not work. Now I can say CMN15D2 does not overclock.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2017
    margroloc likes this.
  3. iambalaji

    iambalaji Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a Gigabyte Aero 14 with a LG panel LGD049A ( LP140QH1-SPF1) . Default supported max display settings are 1440p@60hz reaching eDP limit of 238/7 Mhz. Even a slight bump to 62Hz@1080p results in instant black screen followed by running vertical lines across the entire screen.
    If anyone succeeds with this panel , please report
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2017
    margroloc likes this.
  4. CedricFP

    CedricFP Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    48
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    298
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Monitor overclocking results:
    Aero 15 CMN15C7
    62hz, anything over resulted in artifacting / weird duel screens. Disappointing.
     
    margroloc likes this.
  5. maxsze

    maxsze Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello guys,

    First post to say thanks for this. I've done this to my
    Acer Aspire V15 Nitro VN7-593G-772Y. The results are pretty decent, it's gone to a stable 70mhz which is definitely noticeable (72mhz+ doesn't work at all). On initial boot, I will find it flickers for a brief 1 second before returning to normal for the entire session. This is absolutely fine IMO and worth doing.

    60mhz to 70mhz may not sound like much but it is a 15% increase that otherwise costs nothing and gets better animation quality and just general smoothness in any application that can make use of it.

    EDIT: Model Number (model is from store in Australia)

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2017
    margroloc likes this.
  6. Viseling

    Viseling Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi Guys,

    This was an awesome post. I managed to boost my refreshrate from 60hz to 96hz! Which is an amazing improvement.
    However, I have something strange going on.

    My normal colours have slightly. They look a little bit more 'pixelly' if you know what I mean. Its a very small but noticeable change. Do you know how to change this? Reverting back to 60hz seemed to have changed the issue, but this... obviously... is not what I want. :)

    Anyone has any tips?
     
  7. zzBacon

    zzBacon Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey guys, I'm running an MSI GE62 6QF with a 970M. I've followed all the instructions, however, when I go into the Intel control panel or Windows settings to change the refresh rate, it blacks out my screen for a few seconds and then reverts it back to 59Hz. Is there a way to fix this? Or is my screen just not capable of running at more than 60Hz? Thanks for any replies!
     
  8. jaug1337

    jaug1337 de_dust2

    Reputations:
    2,135
    Messages:
    4,871
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    231
    What refresh rate do you set it to?

    Also what CPU do you have?
     
  9. Beemo

    Beemo BGA is totally TSK TSK!

    Reputations:
    307
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    800
    Trophy Points:
    131
    I have a 60Hz monitor on my GT80 Titan...I wonder if its safe to overclock it? Does it have a long term effect on the monitor?

    EDIT:

    So I OC'ed using Nvidia Control Panel custom resolution to 96Hz...everything seems buttery smooth now.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017
  10. zzBacon

    zzBacon Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Seems I can only get 63Hz. Anything above that and it just reverts back. Is this the max I can OC it too? Because someone else on this thread with the same laptop as mine OC'ed his to 90Hz. I've got an i7 6700HQ. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page