1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Problems with Inspiron 1420 display

Discussion in 'Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio' started by charmer28, Apr 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. charmer28

    charmer28 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello. Thanks - in advance - for your help. My laptop - an inspiron 1420 is giving me problems - after replacing the lid - which had become loose and had cracked. I removed everything - but in the process - the camera board - located behind the bezel - broke. I figured that the screen should still work - until a camera can be bought - but it does not. It lights up a bit: dim black - but it will not show a picture.

    Do any of yo know - if there could be another cause: cables not not plugged in right - etc? I just don't see how the camera board could be the cause since it's just an extra device. There are two white and black connectors - under the keyboard - that are part of the lid - which I plugged in. There's also the power plug for the screen (also under the keyboard) and that's plugged in. The only thing I can think of is the camera board. Let me know if I'm missing something - though - because - if so - I'll just do something to fix it now.

    Well - let me know - folks. Thanks - again.
     
  2. FoxTrot1337

    FoxTrot1337 Notebook Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Location:
    New Jersey and The Interwebz!
    The only thing I can think of is the cables which seems like you already checked. Have you checked with Dell?
     
  3. charmer28

    charmer28 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I will - tomorrow. This is a real pain: ruined a new keyboard that I had installed a few weeks ago (my inspiration to continue doing repairs) that I had just installed - now I think my monitor's fried. For this - I should have just left it alone - cracked and wobbly. At least I got functionality out of it. Now - I think it's fried.

    I can't think of anything: the lcd cable is plugged in - the antenna cables are in. The camera broke - when I was pulling it out. So - I'm thinking that's it - but I don't see why it would be it. I'm thinking of buying a inverter and a camera - off ebay - to see if I can figure the problem out. Maybe I broke it - somehow.

    Thanks for your help though.
     
  4. Commander Wolf

    Commander Wolf can i haz broadwell? Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,233
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    216
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    If you haven't already, try re-seating the aforementioned cables? Especially if they're ZIF cables it's really easy to seat them improperly. Some dust or debris make have gotten into the connectors as well; use some compressed air and blast 'em while you're at it. I don't think it's that easy to fry a display, but you never know...
     
  5. charmer28

    charmer28 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I've been researching - and I've heard that it can be all of those: backlight; inverter connector; lcd cables. Do you think it could be the broken camera board? Maybe - in an inspiron 1420 - it serves some sort of purpose - beyond just being a camera. Anyway - let me know.

    And thanks - for your time and concern.
     
  6. Commander Wolf

    Commander Wolf can i haz broadwell? Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,233
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    216
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I'd say it's very unlikely. They make these things without the camera and I doubt they alter any of the other components besides the bezel. The camera is most likely just plug and play. Of course, to be certain, you should just buy a new one and test it. It's only $10 on eBay...
     
  7. charmer28

    charmer28 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Well - I just ordered one. The backlight seems fine: I can see it glowing - so I'm assuming the power plug under the keyboard is fine. I think I might have plugged it back in wrong - but I only see one plug for the lcd: for power. The other is on the inverter - which I never touched. Three are from the back cover - which are wifi antennas. Maybe the inverter broke: I'm going to buy one - too: just in case a new inverter does the trick for me. Could it be a driver or some sort of set up process I'm missing?

    Well - I'll definitely keep you posted - so that it gives the community folks a head's up. I hate it when people resolve problems and then don't repost - when they could have helped others out.

    Again - thanks for the energy you've expended on my behalf. I truly appreciate it. Check back in a week or so. I'm going to install the parts and then see how it's working. Thanks a lot.
     
  8. charmer28

    charmer28 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I received the camera board, and, of course, it didn't work. In fact, my computer doesn't even recognize the board as being connected:this makes me think that the display cable is jacked. I'll buy one and try it out. I'll let you guys know if it works. Thanks.
     
  9. charmer28

    charmer28 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Just wanted to let everyone know how I solved the issue, in case someone has the same problem and does not know what do do.

    Problem solved: I purchased an LCD cable, and the LCD is now working.

    Symptoms were a screen that was black, but the backlight was working and responding to actions occurring on the external screen: flickering and dimming at startup, when colors and light would normally increase. However, no graphics were showing.

    Symptoms for an inverter, attached to the LCD's base, problem are usually a white screen, as opposed to the problems I was seeing.

    Solution: I purchased an ebay LCD cable, installed it, and all was well.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page