Problem changing boot order!!!

Discussion in 'Acer' started by ByggareBob, Jun 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ByggareBob

    ByggareBob Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I can not change the boot order on my Acer Aspire 5672!

    I want to install, from scratch, Vista Beta 2 and it won't boot from the cd and therefore I am trying to change the boot order so that the cd/dvd is first.

    I have a Swedish keyboard layout but when pressing the keys only results in the computer beeping!!! I have tried every key and it doesn't work! I have tried both the "standard keyboard" and with the "numeric keyboard"

    Any clues?
     
  2. Arla

    Arla Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Quick and dirty, when computer is booting press F12, that should take you into a boot menu (I'm assuming here, 8204 it's that, I would think it's the same on the 5672) and then choose CD drive.

    Alternatively, read the instructions, it's not "numeric" keys you press to change boot order, but I don't recall what it is (think it's + and -, but again, I don't recall, I never change the boot order, just use F12 boot).
     
  3. Amol

    Amol APH! NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    1,831
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    If I remember right,it's F5 and F4 or F5 and F6 to change boot order...did you punch the right buttons?
     
  4. ByggareBob

    ByggareBob Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Well... The thing is I can access the bios setup correctly but I can not make any changes, it doesn't respond to "+" or "-". I will try F12!
     
  5. Drio

    Drio Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    You may have to enter your BIOS with supervisorpassword instead of userpassword.

    hth

    Drio
     
  6. ByggareBob

    ByggareBob Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks! Using the F4-F6, can't remember did the trick!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page