Preliminary results of Quadro P5200m and GTX 1070m on M6700

Discussion in 'Dell' started by RMSMajestic, Feb 19, 2019.

  1. DaMafiaGamer

    DaMafiaGamer Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    634
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Exactly, you can always overclock to make up for the decrease in performance too.
     
    jaybee83 likes this.
  2. User32

    User32 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    43
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    56
    If only HP didn't have such a godawful keyboard layout, i'd be all over a ZBook 17!
     
  3. RMSMajestic

    RMSMajestic Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    76
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Dude at least they are much better than lenovo. I'd love to use my W701(ds) as my daily driver however it's stuck with FX2800m/FX3800m, which are even worse than HD 6670m/HD 5450m.

    I'd love to throw 8740w in the storage. but it's the only 16:10 that is capable of carry somewhat acceptable GPU unfortunately.
     
  4. Raidriar

    Raidriar ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)

    Reputations:
    1,468
    Messages:
    5,377
    Likes Received:
    3,809
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Alienware M17x R2 is 16:10 1920x1200 RGBLED, it accepts 8970M so they're also that. I've been meaning to test with W7170m

    Where did you source your P5200 from? I would like to try in the M18x via optimus. Too bad you live in NOVA....bring your toys down to Richmond and lets make some experiments lol
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2019
    triturbo and jaybee83 like this.
  5. DaMafiaGamer

    DaMafiaGamer Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    634
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    Trophy Points:
    156
    These are exceptions I would make just to have a laptop with a proper mxm socket.
     
  6. RMSMajestic

    RMSMajestic Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    76
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Okay So I have tried the 30+ unverified vBIOSes found on TPU database including the one with hardware ID 1BE1 and 1BA1
    In short answer, no luck. Either BSOD, or no display. The best I can get in boot without display, with the attached vBIOS. I can enter the BIOS and change settings with Henrik's vBIOS, but not booting into the system (Already safe mode DDU cleaned)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Aaron44126

    Aaron44126 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    727
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    1,103
    Trophy Points:
    231
  8. JEAMN

    JEAMN Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yep.

    In particular, if you are getting a BSOD for Win10, it's worthwhile to setup a Win7 usb installer. Win7 will actually display error information on screen that can help pinpoint the problem.
     
  9. RMSMajestic

    RMSMajestic Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    76
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    171
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I don't have winbugs 10 in the first place, skip that spyware.
    BTW could you please help me modding a BIOS for M6700? I've seen you having a success in M6800
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 12, 2019
    jaybee83 likes this.
  10. JEAMN

    JEAMN Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    5
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Nothing I did with the vBIOS helped. I'm using the OEM vBIOS and use a custom boot loader to patch the ACPI tables before booting Windows. It's basically a hack that UEFI secure boot was designed to prevent. =)

    If it's the same problem for the m6700, my solution would probably work for it as well. Are you using Win7 or Win8? Win7 should be giving you some error codes if you are getting a BSOD. If so, could you post them? That'd give us a place to start.
     
    triturbo and Blossomcrown like this.
Loading...

Share This Page